Daryn Cahill Beats Brother Daryl

Western-Speedway logo520x28

Written by Ken Keating – Photos by Illusion Photography (ISN)

July 25th, 2013, Langford, BC (ISN) – Western Speedway hosted round six of the Steve Copp Construction sponsored Wednesday Night Fever events with the Hornet Cars on July 24th. Three Trophy Dashes, nine Heat races, and two Feature races made up the card on this night with Dash wins going to Kyle Fournier, Daen Barry, and Ryan Smith.

Heat race wins were captured by Kevin Dawson, Mike Halls with three, Daryn Cahill, Ian Walker, Daryl Cahill, Marty Anctil, and Cam Stanfield.

Marty Anctil and Kyle Fournier shared the front row for the start of a twenty-five lap B-Main event with the top four positions transferring to the Feature event of the night. Anctil led for the first three laps and as Sam Lagan went to make a pass both cars got together but Lagan backed off to allow Anctil to gain control of his car and he did so and still come out with the lead. Lagan fell back to third and then entered the pits for a quick check of his car a couple laps later. After the trading of paint by Anctil and Lagan, Ian Walker moved up to challenge Anctil for the lead and was joined by Kevin Dawson trying to do the same by lap eleven. By lap fourteen, Walker finally completed the pass and took over the lead. Walker drove to the win followed by Dawson, Anctil, and Devin Fournier earning a spot in the Feature event.

DSC01250 (2)
Daryn Cahill Wins Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

DSC01251 (2)
Daryl Cahill Places 2nd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Chris Davis and Ryan Turko led eighteen cars to the green flag for thirty-five laps of racing in the Feature event of the night. Davis led the first two laps until Turko took over on lap three followed by Davis with Daen Barry running in third. By lap five Turko still led but had Mike Halls, Daryn Cahill, Cam Stanfield, and Davis chasing him down and coming forward in a hurry. By lap eight, Ryan Smith took over the fifth position as he tried to mount a challenge. By lap twelve, Daryn took the second position with Stanfield and Smith right behind him and still moving forward. By lap eighteen, Daryl Cahill moved into contention by gaining the fifth position after Smith fell off the pace losing several positions before he got back up to speed. Daryl moved to the outside groove and started to move forward passing or running side by side through the corners. Meanwhile up front, Daryn Cahill moved to run side by side with Turko for the lead while Brother Daryl ran side by side with Stanfield. On lap twenty-five, Daryn completed the pass for the lead followed by Stanfield, Daryl, Turko, and Mike Halls. Halls got off the pavement going through turn three and four and lost some positions late in the race and as Daryn and Daryl were in a drag race for the chequered flag, Halls was caught in the middle as they crossed the finish line. Daryn got the flag by mere inches over Brother Daryl followed by Stanfield, Turko, and Bailey Walker rounding out the top five positions.

DSC01252 (3)
Cam Stanfield Places 3rd In Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

DSC01253 (2)
Ian Walker Wins Hornet B-Main event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

The next event for the Hornets is scheduled for July 31st followed by August 7th. The next regular racing is Friday and Saturday July 26th and 27th with the Monster Trucks and Colin Heacock “The Crazy Canuck” car jump courtesy of Wayne’s Trucking, and the Lordco Auto Parts Demo Series with Demo Cars, Demo Trucks, Figure 8s, and the Bombers. There will be no races held on Saturday August 3rd but return Saturday August 10th with the Non Wing Sprint Cars, Stock Cars, OTRA, Mini Stocks, and the Hornets big track racing.