Daryn Times Two

Western-Speedway logo520x28

Written by Ken Keating – Photos by Illusion Photography (ISN)

August 1, 2013, Langford BC (ISN) – Western Speedway hosted the Steve Copp Construction sponsored Wednesday Night Fever event with three Trophy Dashes, nine Heat races, a B Main, and the Feature event of the night.

Trophy Dash winners included Davin Otke, Daryn Cahill, and Tristan Gait. Heat race winners were Kyle Fournier, Daryn Cahill, Bailey Walker, Charlie South, Cam Stanfield with two, Daryl Cahill, Devin Fournier, and Ryan Smith. Mike Halls seemed to have one of his Heats under control although he had Cam Stanfield all over him and as the white flag flew Mike pulled his car toward the pits mistaking the white for the chequered flag handing Stanfield the gift and his second Heat race win.

Cam Stanfield and Charlie South shared the front row for the start of the twenty lap B-Main event with the top five earning a place in the Feature event of the night. Stanfield got out quickly and grabbed the lead followed by Devin Fournier and South by lap two. By lap seven, Andrew Buchanan grabbed the fourth position dropping Sam Lagan back to fifth. Stanfield cruised to the win in this race followed by Fournier, South, Buchanan, and Lagan advancing to the Feature event.

DSC01427 (2)
Cam Stanfield Wins Hornet B-Main event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Daryn Cahill Wins Hornet Feature event –
Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Eighteen cars took the green flag for a thirty lap Feature event led by Chris Davis and Ryan Turko in the front row. By lap two Turko had the lead followed by Daryn Cahill and Davis. By lap four, Cahill jumped into the lead with Turko now holding on behind him and Mike Halls in the mix. By lap ten, Bailey Walker and Cam Stanfield moved up running fourth and fifth respectively while up front Cahill was checking out from the rest of the field. On lap fifteen the yellow came out as Dave Featherby spun his car around on the front stretch. For the double file restart, Cahill would have South on his outside and a host of fast cars right on his bumper. With the drop of the green flag, Daryn got away clean and went back to the lead followed by Turko and brother Daryl. Halls and Ryan Smith put themselves in contention moving into the top five positions. For several laps, Daryl, Halls, and Smith waged a battle for third, fourth, and fifth, with each driver trying to get to the inside to make a pass but unable to do so. With the laps running out, Daryl finally got by for the third position. This race provided lots of three wide racing and exchanging paint as they drove through the tight corners but causing no accidents. When the dust settled Daryn picked up his second victory in a row followed by Turko, Daryl, Ryan Smith, and Mike Halls rounding out the top five positions. Brianne Gutowski was on hand to sing the National Anthem and joined Jen Wright in Trophy Presentations to all of the winners.

Ryan Turko PLaces 2nd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)


Daryl Cahill places 3rd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN) 

Western Speedway will take the August long week end off with no races scheduled so the next event will be with the Wednesday Night Fever event and the Hornets scheduled for August 7th with only four events left to decide a Champion and the points race very close with Cam Stanfield, Daryl Cahill, Ryan Smith, Mike Halls, and Daryn Cahill all in contention. The next regular Saturday event will Feature Fan Appreciation Night with the WILROC Non Wing Sprints, the Island Stock Cars, OTRA, the SDL Bins I.M.S. 4 Mini Stocks and the Hornets running on the big oval scheduled for August 10th.