MIVA 20km Time Trial


Peter McCaffery

August 2, 2013, Nanaimo, BC (ISN) – Thursday night was the biggest turnout of the year for the last twenty kilometre time trial of the season. There were a few new faces, including a visitor from the U.K. – Ian Brown of the Brenton Wheelers – who had some very nice things to say about the Nanaimo River Road course and the organisation.

The wind had dropped and the cooler temperature provided the opportunity to do some fast times.

In fact, there were a number of personal bests for the course: Shawn Boyd, Justin Mark (Speed Cycle), Nick Kupiak (first tt this year), Patrick Burnham with his fixed wheel, ever young septuagenerian Dave Steen, Matt Evans, Lorrie Baildham, Chad Dalrymple, Mike Gill, Jamie Gauthier, and youth riders Ian Gillmore ( new male youth course record) and Aiden Hare (warning for drafting).

The mens category was won by Don Gillmore, still wearing road rash from his crash in the Tuesday Arbutus criterium. First woman was Lorrie Baildham, and winning youth male was Ian Gillmore.

Thanks to Jason Hare for holding the starters and to Reagan Lovig for acting as turn marshal.

Full results and average speeds can be viewed at: www.webscorer.com/race?/raceid=11097 

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!