South Africa claim World Games Rugby Sevens gold – Canada takes bronze

world games_2013_big

IRB Media

August 3, 2013 (ISN) – South Africa’s Rugby Sevens team performed heroics to finish unbeaten at the World Games in Cali, Colombia, Seabelo Senatla scoring two of their five tries in a fine final as they beat Argentina 33-24 to claim a deserved gold medal.

One month after the disappointment of exiting the Rugby World Cup Sevens at the quarter-final stage in Moscow, the South Africans, captained by fit-again Kyle Brown, saw off both France and Argentina en route to the title at the Pascual Guerrero Stadium.

The Argentines claimed the silver medal, while a young Canadian side finished well to overcome France to take bronze at what is the last World Games to feature Rugby Sevens with the sport joining the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016. 


The first of the knock-out matches on the second day of competition went to form with South Africa beating Uruguay 36-0, France just edging Hong Kong 14-12, Argentina overpowering the hosts Colombia 49-5 and Canada beating Brazil 26-7.

In the semi-finals the South Africans rose to the challenge against France to win 33-12 and Argentina joined them in the final by beating Canada 19-7.

In the final the flying Seabelo Senatla touched down twice for the Blitzbokke to add to tries from Steven Hunt, Willem-Johannes Strydom and Mark Richards as Vuyo Zangqa’s side battled to the 33-24 win against the strong Puma effort.

Canada finished on a high to defeat France and claim the bronze medal, Hong kong beat Brazil to fifth and Uruguay overcame hosts Colombia to finish seventh.

Rugby Sevens at World Games – roll of honour

2013 (Cali)

South Africa – gold

Argentina – silver

Canada – bronze

2009 (Kaohsiung)

Fiji – gold

Portugal – silver

South Africa – bronze

2005 (Duisberg)

Fiji – gold

South Africa – silver

Argentina – bronze

2001 (Akita)

Fiji – gold

Australia – silver

New Zealand – bronze