pga tour_canada

Brian Decker – PGA Tour Canada

August 5, 2013, (ISN) – Following June’s devastating rainfall and flooding in Southern Alberta, the ATB Financial Classic presented by TELUS, originally slated to take place June 17-23, was cancelled.

But thanks to the efforts and flexibility of ATB Financial, TELUS and Country Hills Golf Club, the tournament was able to be re-scheduled for August 6-9.

“As southern Alberta was dealing with its worst flood on record, postponing the ATB Financial Classic was absolutely the right thing to do,” said John Windwick, ATB’s Vice-President, Community Initiatives. “The work to get Calgary and other southern Alberta communities back on their feet is far from over, but we’re thrilled the PGA TOUR Canada was able to re-schedule the tournament so quickly. Hopefully, the world-class golf at the Classic will help brighten what’s been a pretty tough summer.”

ATB Financial Classic presented by TELUS

August 6-9

Country Hills Golf Club (Talons Course)

Calgary, Alberta

2012 Winner: Michael Gligic

Twitter: @ATBClassic2013

Hashtag: #ATBClassic


Country Hills Golf Club – Talons Course

Calgary, Alberta

Par 72 – 36/36 – 7,209 yards

Designed: 2010 – Tom McBroom

Course Record: 67 – Mike Belbin (2010)


Every dollar counts as chase for The Five heats up

With four events in the books, players are taking notice of just how much every shot counts in the race for the five Tour cards at season’s end. The Players Cup champion Carlos Sainz, Jr. finished a mere $179.67 of the top three on the Order of Merit, which would have gotten him a spot in the field at the RBC Canadian Open. If Sainz, Jr. was a single shot better the previous week at the Syncrude Boreal Open presented by AECON, he would have been third on the Order of Merit with a $324.58 cushion to spare.

As the race for The Five heats up, every shot matters for those who will move on to the Tour in 2014. Here are the current top five through The Players Cup.

1. Riley Wheeldon – $39,937.50

2. Wil Collins – $34,243.75

3. Stephen Gangluff – $28,444.17

4. Carlos Sainz, Jr. – $28,264.50

5. Nick Taylor – $22,556.25

Love leads list of locals

Calgary’s own James Love leads a strong contingent of Calgarians to be competing this week at Country Hills, joining fellow former PGA TOUR Canada winners Ryan Yip and Wes Heffernan as well as area natives Craig Gibson, Ryan Werre and Thomas Schupp.

Love, the 2009 TOUR Championship winner, is looking to get into contention for one of the five cards for 2014 on the Tour, where he spent 2012, making five cuts including a T-9 finish at the Utah Championship. Love’s best finish in 2013 is a tie for 31st at the Dakota Dunes Open presented by SaskTel.

Closing is tough business in 2013

Following Carlos Sainz, Jr.’s victory in Winnipeg, 54-hole leaders and co-leaders are now 0-4 in converting their leads into wins this season, with David Skinns, Nick Taylor, Joel Dahmen, Lucas Lee and Nathan Tyler all coming up empty handed after heading into Sunday with at least a share of the lead. Part of the challenge? Someone has gone low in every final round, with the winner shooting 68 or better on Sunday (including 66 in the first three events). The winner has yet to come from the final group in 2013.

The last 54-hole leader or co-leader to win on PGA TOUR Canada was Eugene Wong at the 2012 TOUR Championship.

Monday Qualifiers

With the tournament’s original dates cancelled, Monday qualifying scores from June 17 will be honoured. Below are the scores from the qualifier.

Mike Grob* – 66

Thomas Schupp – 67

Thomas Hay – 67

Kevin McAlpine* – 68

Ben Briscoe – 69

Josh Creel* – 69

John Kelly – 69

Michael Knight – 69

Ryan Werre – 69

Brett Nymeyer* – 70

* denotes PGA TOUR Canada member

Bold denotes Canadian

Alumni Watch

The field at this week’s PGA Championship features a dozen PGA TOUR Canada alumni, including Canadians Graham DeLaet and David Hearn. Last week, Brendan Steele led a list of alumni on the PGA TOUR, finishing fourth at the Reno Tahoe Open.

Field Breakdown

This week’s field includes 64 Canadians, 72 Americans and players from 15 countries including Argentina, Mexico, Chile, Brazil, Guatemala, England, Scotland, Wales, Germany, Thailand, South Korea, Australia, and South Africa.

Past ATB Financial Classic presented by TELUS champions in the field:

Michael Gligic (2012)

Hugo Leon (2011)

Mike Grob (2007)