Lots of opportunities in triangular series: South Africa Cricket’s Ontong

CSA LOGO_White300

August 6, 2013 (ISN) – South Africa A are ready to hit the ground running when they face Australia A in the first match of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) triangular series including India A. The side come off a 1-0, four-day Test series win against Australia and are confident going into the new format.

Captain, Justin Ontong believes this series will see lots of opportunities for youngsters who would like to break into the Castle Lager Proteas’ ODI squad.

“I think the one-day games will be a good challenge for us,” he said. “India and Australia are really good one-day teams. We’re looking forward to this test and considering how the national team is struggling at the moment, it will be a good opportunity for the youngsters.”

Juan “Rusty” Theron comes in as cover for Marchant de Lange who has been withdrawn from the one-day squad due to a side injury. Theron is looking forward to facing international opposition for the first time in a long while.

Australian vice-captain, Alex Doolan says his side is looking forward to the change in formats.

“It’s just a mind-set change from four-day to one-day cricket really. We’ll be backing our skills and making sure we stick to our plans and stick to our team goals,” he commented.

When asked about the team’s feelings about taking on India during the triangular series he said: “India have brought a really strong team, we’re really looking forward to playing them and testing our skills.”

South Africa A and Australia will play at the TUKS Oval at the High Performance Centre in Pretoria, play starts at 09:30.

South Africa A one-day team:

Justin Ontong (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras, capt), Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Dean Elgar (Chevrolet Knights), Ayabulela Gqamane (Chevrolet Warriors), Beuran Hendricks (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Chevrolet Knights), Richard Levi (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Rilee Rossouw (Chevrolet Knights), Yaseen Vallie (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Roelof van der Merwe (Nashua Titans), Vaughn van Jaarsveld (Sunfoil Dolphins), Dane Vilas (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Hardus Viljoen (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rusty Theron (Chevrolet Warriors).

Australia A one-day team:

Aaron Finch (capt), Alex Doolan (vice capt), Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Fawad Ahmed, Josh Hazelwood, Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Gurinder Sandhu, Chadd Sayers.

India A one-day team:

Cheteshwar Pujara (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma,Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Ishwar Chand Pandey, Jaidev Unadkat, Siddharth Kaul.