Western-Speedway logo520x28

Written by Ken Keating Photos by Illusion Photography

August 17, 203, Langford BC (ISN) – Western Speedway hosted Day 1 of the P & R Western Star Daffodil Cup event with the Stock Cars, OTRA, Richlock Rentals Non Wing Sprint Cars, racing for the Kershaw Trophy, and the Winged Sprints from the NSRA and the Western Winged Sprint Cars in a two day run for the prestigious Daffodil Cup.

The prediction of rain did not materialize and the Speedway was able to complete a full program of Trophy Dashes, Heat races, and Feature events. Day 1 winners included Dave Reside in the Stock Car Dash, Larry Joyce with OTRA, Jeff Bird with the Non Wing Sprints, and team mates Wade Bland and Matt Mansell picking up wins with the Wing Sprints. Heat race wins went to Marc Parkinson and Kevin Knight in the Stock Car Series, Kail Beck and Duane Zeinstra with OTRA, Deter Lajuene and Mike Haslam with the Non Wing Sprints, with Matt Hein, Andy Alberding, and Scott Aumen taking the chequers in the Winged Sprints. The first of three Heat races produced a violent crash on the first lap with the Winged Sprints as Nick Wood climbed the rear tire of Jeff Montgomery’s car and sending the Kamloops driver into the front stretch wall. His car went airborne and spun several times almost like a football before coming to rest against the tire barriers at the start of the drag strip way down on corner one. Kevin was unhurt but his night would be over as the front end took a lot of damage as did the wings.

Vantreight Farms Daffodil Special on display – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN) 

Hugh Glover and Kail Beck led ten cars to the green flag for a twenty-five lap Feature event with the OTRA Series. On the first lap, Glover spun around and James Miller, Larry Joyce, and Roger Beck also spun trying to avoid a collision. Miller and Glover had their rear bumpers locked pretty good and it took crews several minutes to get them untangled. On the restart, Duane Zeinstra got the lead early and began to run away from everyone except George Jenson, sporting a new engine, stayed with in reach. On lap twenty-one the yellow came out as Roger Beck spun around. On the restart, Zeinstra got away first again with Jenson and Miller in a tight battle for second and third. Zeinstra took the win with Jenson able to hold off the challenge for second while Miller and Kail Beck rounded out the top four positions.

Duane Zeinstra wins OTRA Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Eleven Stock Cars took the green flag for thirty laps of racing with Marc Parkinson and Kerry Steen on the front row. By lap two Shane Scott had the lead followed by Kevin Knight and Kerry Steen. By lap five, Knight passed for the lead and began to march away from the rest of the field. The battle behind him now had Shane Scott trying to hold off Daryl Crocker as he marched forward. On lap fourteen, Crocker took that position and set his sights on the leader. On lap fifteen, Kerry Steen lost traction and almost collided with the wall on turn four but spun across the track and got the car under control enough to get back in a straight line sending other drivers in scramble mode trying to avoid disaster and no yellows or collisions resulted. Kevin Knight went virtually unchallenged for the win followed by Daryl Crocker, Shane Scott, and Dave Reside rounding out the top four positions.

Kevin Knight wins Stock Car Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Tony Johnson and Chris Root led fourteen cars to the green flag for thirty laps of racing with the Richlock Rentals Non Winged Sprint cars running for the Kershaw Trophy. Wade Heckford took the lead by lap two followed by Root and Johnson. On lap five the yellow came out as Johnson spun around coming out of turn four. On the single file restart, Heckford got the lead followed by Root, Dave Emmerson and Jeff Bird. By lap eight, Bird drove into the second position with Emmerson running in third until he got passed by Mark Stuart a few laps later. Bird passed for the lead on lap fourteen with Heckford and Stuart behind him. By lap seventeen, Stuart made the pass for second and started to chase Bird for the lead. Stuart made it interesting but Bird drove to the win with Stuart, Deter Lajeune, Heckford, and Emmerson rounding out the top five positions.

Jeff Bird wins Non Wing Sprint Car Feature and Kershaw Trophy – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Richie Larson and Sierra Jackson shared the front row for the start of the thirty lap Winged Sprint Car Feature event and twenty of the fastest drivers in the field. Todd Coleman brought out an early yellow as he spun around by himself resulting in a full restart. Larson got the best jump on the restart while Jackson dropped into the second spot with Johnny Geisler running in third. The yellow came out again on lap three when Ron Jay spun around in turn four. On the double file restart, Larson again had Jackson share the front row with the same result. Larson got the lead with Jackson running second and Darren Yates now running in third. By lap four Scott Aumen was charging toward the front racing into the fifth position. By lap eight Aumen moved into the third position settling in behind Jackson for several laps. Ron Larson slowed to enter the pits and almost collected Jeff Montgomery sending him slightly airborne for a couple seconds. Montgomery continued to race but lost a couple positions. On lap twenty-six, Aumen pulled his patented slide on Jackson and passed her for second and shortly after she pulled her car to the pits with a mechanical problem one that seemed to plague the Idaho driver all night. Aumen continued his march forward and was all over Larson until the white flag dropped and as it did,
Aumen flashed to the inside and grabbed the lead the only lap he led all night but it was the important one as he took the win with Larson holding second, Darren Yates took third in his brand new car, with Guy Barrett and Matt Mansell rounding out the top five positions. Mr Excitement and the other great Winged Sprint Car racers only lasted twelve minutes and forty-three + seconds for thirty laps. Round two goes Saturday night for the Daffodil Cup.

Scott Aumen Wins Day 1 Winged Sprint Car Feature even – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Top three finish for Darren Yates in 3rd, Richie Larson 2nd, and Scott Aumen 1st – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)