Western-Speedway logo520x280 copy

Story by Ken Keating – Photos by Illusion Photography (ISN)

August 29, 2013, Langford, BC (ISN) – Last Night marked the finale for the Wednesday Night Fever Steve Copp Construction sponsored Hornet Series and the crowning of a Champion for 2013. Twenty-three cars qualified for racing led by Bailey Walker setting the fast time of the night at 14:752.

The night’s program would see three Trophy Dashes, nine Heat races, a B-Main, and the Feature event. Racing began with Cam Stanfield holding a slim eleven point lead over Ryan Smith with Daryl Cahill and Mike Halls with a legitimate shot of claiming the title. Daryl had his car totalled in a wreck on the Lower Mainland and could not run in this event and that’s unfortunate as he is always among the front runners. Trophy Dash wins went to Blair Davis, Daryn Cahill, and Tristan Gait. Heat races were captured by Blair Davis, Daryn Cahill with two, Mike Halls, Kevin Dawson with two, Dave Featherby, Bailey Walker, and Ryan Smith.

Daryn Cahill places 2nd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Trevor Copp places 3rd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN) 

Nine drivers entered the B-Main led by Kyle Fournier and Ashley Creed on the front row with fifteen laps to race for four transfer spots to determine who would go to the Feature event. Fournier got out to the early lead and was challenged by Richard Shuck racing side by side with the leader after two laps. Kevin Dawson was also making a charge and challenged both front runners and on lap four made it three wide diving to the inside and came out with the lead. On lap six Dawson still led with Shuck behind him followed by Ryan Turko and Fournier. On lap eight, Turko took the second spot while back in the field Fournier was trying to hold off Sam Lagan and Blair Davis for the last transfer spot. When the chequered flag dropped, Dawson won easily followed by Turko, Shuck, and Davis who took the fourth spot on the last lap.

Kevin Dawson Wins Hornet B-Main event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN) 

Marty Anctil and Marlin Gait led seventeen cars to the green flag for thirty laps of racing in the Feature event. After all Heat races, Cam Stanfield still held a slim lead over Ryan Smith in the chase for the Championship and both drivers starting side by side in row five. Anctil got the early lead followed by Daryn Cahill and Dave Featherby. By lap five, Cahill gained the lead with Anctil, Featherby, and thirteen year old Trevor Copp chasing him. On lap nine, Copp moved into the second spot with Taylor Orr behind him and Ryan Smith moving into the top four with Stanfield trapped behind slower cars running in sixth. On lap fourteen, Featherby spun around after running in fifth position but did not cause a yellow flag. This provided the opportunity for Stanfield to get into the mix and move into the fourth spot and right behind Smith. On lap eighteen, Smith came out of turn four and lost his front wheel and grazed the wall and had to go to the pits and surrendered the third position to Stanfield. The yellow flag came out to remove Smith’s wheel from the front stretch wall. On the double file restart, Cahill got away first and went back to the lead as Stanfield also chose the inside lane for the resumption of green flag racing that only lasted one lap as the yellow came out again. On this double file restart, Stanfield chose the front row outside with Cahill on the inside but Cahill got the best jump and went back to the lead followed by Stanfield, Copp, and Mike Halls. Going down the back stretch, and laps running out, Stanfield moved to the outside and passed Cahill for the lead. When the chequered flag dropped, Stanfield came home the victor followed by Cahill, Copp, Bailey Walker, and Taylor Orr rounding out the top five positions. The win provided another Championship for Stanfield after holding that title in 2011 and then losing to Smith last season. Congratulations to all the drivers who took part in this Series all season and of course to the Champion and to Steve Copp and his continued support of Hornet car racing. The Wednesday Night Fever events are complete for 2013 however the Hornets do return for a battle on the big oval on September 14th and 28th and a great points battle between brothers Daryl and Daryn Cahill with Daryl holding a fifty-one point advantage.

Cam Stanfield wins Hornet Feature event and Hornet Championship – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

The next event, at Western Speedway, is Friday August 30th and Saturday August 31st that will see the Peninsula Co-Op / Coca-Cola Reg Midgley Canada 200 and the Fountain Tire Street Stock Drivers Challenge take to the ashfault for two nights of great racing action. The Canada 200 is one of the oldest races in Canada and will see some of the top drivers here to compete over the two days. Dave Hemrich will be out to defend his title against Wade Bland, Jason Tarasenko, Rory Smith, Geoff Morris, Darrell Midgley, and a host of other in a very long race. Daryl Crocker has a very narrow six point lead with the Street Stocks over Kyle Cameron and nine drivers within thirty points as they enter this week ends event. This should prove to be one of the best races of the season so we will see you there.