Cuts and Intrasquad Game Cap Off 2013 Wheat Kings Training Camp

brandon wheat_kings

September 1, 2013, Brandon, Manitoba – The Western Hockey League’s Brandon Wheat Kings reassigned nine players Sunday night following their annual Intrasquad Game at Westman Communications Group Place.

Among the players were eight 16-year old prospects and one 15-year old, who is ineligible to play in 2013-14.

Following is the list of the other players reassigned Sunday night:

  • Goal Evan Robert 16
  • Goal Logan Thompson 16
  • Defence Tanner Brown 16
  • Defence Aaron Kellogg 16
  • Defence Mark Taraschuk 16
  • Forward Conner Lukan 16
  • Forward Ty Lewis 15
  • Forward Tristen Elder 16
  • Forward Kirklan Lycar 16

In Monday’s annual Intrasquad game, the line of Chad Robinson, Jack Palmer and Jayce Hawryluk combined for nine points as Team Black built up a 7-2 second period lead en route to a 12-4 win over Team White at Westman Communications Group Place.

Robinson, a 20-year old Minnedosa product, led the way with a goal and four helpers followed by Palmer with a goal and 3 points and Hawryluk with a pair of tallies.

Elkhorn’s Taylor Sanheim with two, Brett Kitt, Connor Lukan, Ty Lewis, Taylor Cooper, Dakota Boutin and Quintin Lisoway rounded out the scoring for the winners, who led 3-1 before scoring four goals in a span of six minutes in the second period to blow the game wide open.

Latvian left-winger Rihard Bukharts scored once and set up two others in a losing cause, while singles came off the sticks of Ryley Lindgren, Aaron Kellogg and Jens Meilleur.

As a result of Sunday night’s moves, the Wheat Kings have trimmed their pre-season roster to 35 players – two goalkeekers, eleven defencemen and 22 forwards. Of those, four will be leaving for National Hockey League training camps this coming week (Ryan Pulock – New York Islanders, Nick Walters – St. Louis Blues, Eric Roy – Calgary Flames and Richard Nejezchleb – Pittsburgh Penguins) and three are 15-year olds – Nolan Patrick, Kale Clague and Tanner Kaspick, who were chosen 4th, 6th and 25th overall in this year’s Western Hockey League Bantam Draft.

Following is the list of players on the Wheat Kings’ pre-season roster:

Goal: (2)

Curtis Honey, Jordan Papirny

Defence: (11)

Nick Walters, Kale Clague, Riley Van Horne, Taylor Green, Ryan Pulock, Colton Waltz, Eric Roy, Rene Hunter, Dominic Thom, Kord Pankewicz and Mark Matsuba

Forwards: (22)

Jack Palmer, Chad Robinson, Jayce Hawryluk, Taylor Cooper, Quintin Lisoway, Dakota Boutin, Brett Kitt, Duncan Campbell, Jordan Bochinski, Tanner Kaspick, Taylor Sanheim, Richard Nejezchleb, Tim McGauley, Jens Meilleur, Rihards Bukharts, Ryley Lindgren, John Quenneville, Jesse Gabrielle, Nolan Patrick, Braylon Shmyr, Liam Gregor, Tyler Coulter

The Wheat Kings will kick off their 4-game pre-season schedule this Friday night at Westman Place against the visiting Moose Jaw Warriors. Tickets to both of Brandon’s exhibition games will go on sale Tuesday, September 3rd at 9 a.m. at the Keystone Centre box office.

Tickets to Brandon’s Regular Season Home Opener on Saturday, September 21st meanwhile will go on sale this coming Friday, September 6th at 9 a.m.

Fans interested in 2013-14 Wheat Kings Season Tickets and being entered into the hockey club’s new 20 Prizes in 20 Days Contest Giveaway, are encouraged to call the Wheat Kings at (204) 726-3535.

Christian J. Stewart
Christian is a professional photographer and media professional based in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Currently working as the Assistant General Manager for Victoria HarbourCats Baseball Club, a Senior Contributing Editor and photographer at Independent Sports News (ISN) and operating his own freelance photography and media/pr company.