Canadians Prominent in 2013 International Paralympic Sport Award Shortlists

canadian paralympic_committ

September 4, 2013, OTTAWA, – Canadians are prominent in the 2013 Paralympic Sport Award shortlists released today by the International Paralympic Committee, recognizing achievements at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Canadians made the shortlists in three categories – best male athlete, best team and best official.

Best male athlete: Patrick Anderson (Fergus, Ont.) spearheaded Canada to wheelchair basketball gold by posting career best numbers and finishing as the tournament’s top scorer.


Best team:
 Canada’s Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Team claimed their third gold in the last four Paralympic Games by beating Australia 64-58 in the final. 

Best official: Through the International Cycling Union (UCI) and London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games (LOCOG), Louis Barbeau (Repentigny, Que.), Director General of the Fédération québécoise des sports cyclistes (FQSC), was responsible for the London 2012 cycling course, which proved to be a challenging and fantastic event.

“Patrick Anderson, Louis Barbeau and the Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Team are champions on and off the field of play and an inspiration to all Canadians,” said Gaétan Tardif, President of the Canadian Paralympic Committee. 

“The Canadian Paralympic Committee is extremely proud to see their accomplishments recognized internationally and we congratulate them on their commitment to excellence, leadership and the years of hard work invested in these performances.”

Winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony in Athens, Greece on Nov. 23, coinciding with the International Paralympic Committee’s General Assembly and Conference.

The winners will be selected by a judging panel which includes the IPC Governing Board, IPC Athletes’ Council, IPC Management team and sponsor Allianz.

Previous winners of the awards, which take place in the years following a summer and winter Paralympic Games, include legendary Canadian wheelchair racer Chantal Petitclerc.

The Paralympic Sport Awards have been given out every two years since 2005, and Canada has taken home the most honours, winning five different awards.

For more information, please visit

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee

The Canadian Paralympic Committee is a non-profit, private organization with 25 member sports organizations dedicated to strengthening the Paralympic Movement. The Canadian Paralympic Committee’s vision is to be the world’s leading Paralympic nation. Its mission is to lead the development of a sustainable Paralympic sport system in Canada to enable athletes to reach the podium at the Paralympic Games. By supporting Canadian high performance athletes with a disability and promoting their success, the Canadian Paralympic Committee inspires all Canadians with a disability to get involved in sport through programs delivered by its member organizations. For more information, visit

Christian J. Stewart
Christian is a professional photographer and media professional based in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Currently working as the Assistant General Manager for Victoria HarbourCats Baseball Club, a Senior Contributing Editor and photographer at Independent Sports News (ISN) and operating his own freelance photography and media/pr company.