With files from Canadian Interuniversity Sport

September 27, 2013 EDMONTON – The University of Alberta, University of Calgary, University of British Columbia and University of Victoria are among Canadian Interuniversity Sport institutions to make championship hosting bids for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 seasons.

The bidding was for CIS championships in women’s rugby (2014 and 2015), as well as women’s basketball, men’s basketball and men’s hockey (2015 and 2016).

The CIS championship selection committee will meet during the second week of October to reviews the bids and hosts will be announced in the days following the meeting.

Women’s basketball proved the most popular of the four sports up for bid with no less than seven schools expressing interest, including Alberta, Cape Breton and UNB for both 2015 and 2016, Laval for 2015 only, Calgary and Victoria for 2016, and Carleton for either 2015 or 2016.

Five of those institutions have previously hosted the event, including Calgary (four times), Laval (three times), Alberta (twice), UNB (twice) and Victoria (once).

Men’s hockey received interest from Acadia (both years), UPEI (both years) and Ryerson (2016 only), as well as a joint bid from Saint Mary’s and St. Francis Xavier (both years). The Acadia and SMU-StFX groups both indicated they would host the tourney at the Metro Centre in Halifax.

Of the four bidders, only UPEI has previously organized the University Cup, back in 1970.

Meanwhile, three schools put in bids for women’s rugby, including Alberta and Guelph for 2014 and 2015, and Queen’s for 2015 only. Guelph (1999) and Alberta (2003) have hosted the competition in the past.

Last but not least, the popular men’s basketball Final Eight tournament attracted interest from UBC (2015 & 2016) and Ryerson (2015). While UBC was the lone bidder for 2016, the selection committee still has to review its bid to ensure it meets or exceeds the CIS hosting standards. The men’s hoops championship was held at UBC back in 1972.

For the 2013-14 season, six Canada West schools will host national championships, including Alberta, Calgary, Regina, Saskatchewan and Victoria.