Members elect 2013-14 board of directors


OTTAWA – The membership of Swimming Canada has elected the organization’s board of directors for the 2013-14 season.

The board will welcome two newly-elected directors in Dean Crawford of British Columbia and Louise Leblanc of Quebec.

Leblanc, an inductee to the Sports Officials Canada Hall of Fame, has more than 25 years experience as an official, including assignments at the 2012 Olympics in London and the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India.

She has also served two terms as chair of the Provincial Officials Directors Council, representing Swimming Canada at the annual Sports Officials Canada conference.

Crawford, a former Olympic rower, had been on the SwimBC Board for the past eight years, the last six as president. He was the founding president of Pacific Coast Swimming in Victoria and brings a great deal of volunteer experience, including numerous boards and committees.

In addition, David de Vlieger of Alberta, Leslie Cliff of British Columbia and John Hinds of Ontario, were re-elected. De Vlieger has been on the board since 2007 and served the past three terms as president.

They will join incumbents Sean Finn (Quebec), Cheryl Gibson (Alberta), Kerry Mummery (Alberta), and Jim Shaw (Ontario) to serve on the nine-member board of directors.

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to