2013 PGA of BC award recipients announced

pga bc

October 17, 2013 (ISN) – The Professional Golfers’ Association of British Columbia is proud to unveil the recipients of the 2013 PGA of BC Golf Awards.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

Teacher of the Year presented by Maui Jim Sunglasses: Rob Houlding – Rob Houlding Golf Academy

Finalists: Jeff Palmer (Olympic View Golf Club), Ian Henson (Tobiano Golf Course), Casey Johnson (Copper Point Golf Club)

Coach of the Year presented by Clarkes Recognition Products Ltd.: Robert Ratcliffe – Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community

Finalists:Todd Spring (University Golf Club), Jeff Hollman (Penticton Golf & Country Club), Jeff Wiggins (Mountain View Golf Club)

Golf Shop of the Year presented by Forestar Golf Sales Ltd.: Victoria Golf Club

Finalists: Marine Drive Golf Club, Gallagher’s Canyon Golf & Country Club, Copper Point Golf Club

Junior Golf Leader of the Year presented by Rampion Enterprises Ltd.: Tye Babkirk – Summerland Golf & Country Club

Finalists: Colin Lavers (Seymour Golf & Country Club), Jeff Palmer (Olympic View Golf Club), Dale Moore (Windermere Valley Golf Course)

Sales Representative of the Year presented by Trainwest Management & Consulting Inc. Brent Mullin, Bushnell Golf

Finalists: Bob Rawlings (Titleist/FootJoy), John Beddis (Titleist/FootJoy), Deanna Ruby (Second Skin Garment Company)

Golf Facility of the Year presented by FYidoctors, Chilliwack Golf Club

Finalists: Bear Mountain Golf Resort, Fairview Mountain Golf Club, Copper Point Golf Club

Professional Development Award presented by Clarity Success Coaching, Brian Schaal – Copper Point Golf Club

Finalists: Mark Strong (Richmond Country Club), Keith Gibson (Long Beach Golf Course), Michael Chmilar (Sun Rivers Golf Course)

Apprentice/Candidate for Membership of the Year presented by Cleveland Golf / Srixon Canada, Gordy Scutt – Olympic View Golf Course

Finalists: Matt Palsenbarg (Northview Golf & Country Club), Greg Machtaler (Summerland Golf & Country Club), Michael Midyette (Windermere Valley Golf Course)

Golf Professional of the Year presented by Richport Ford, Kevin Maffioli – Christina Lake Golf Club

Finalists: Dave Zibrik (Seymour Creek Golf Centre), Mike Parker (Victoria Golf Club), Guy Dow (Penticton Golf & Country Club)

The award recipients listed above (with exception to the Sales Representative and Golf Facility of the year), will be the PGA of BC’s nominees for the PGA of Canada National Awards.

The PGA of BC is also pleased to announce the following recipients of awards, which have been won either by spectacular golf play throughout the season, or through contributions to the betterment of the Association:

Player of the Year

Greg Machtaler – Summerland Golf & Country Club

Member of the Year presented by Dock Visual Media, Alan Palmer – Shaughnessy Golf & Country Club

Jim Gibson Patron of the Year, Brad Ziemer – The Vancouver Sun

Forestar Golf Community Leadership Bursary, James Presnail – Gleneagles Golf Course

Jim Gibson Scholarship, Matt Palsenbarg – Northview Golf & Country Club