2013 OUA women’s field hockey major awards and all-stars announced


Source: OUA Communications

HAMILTON, Ont. – OntarioUniversity Athletics (OUA) is pleased to announce the 2013 OUAfield hockey major awards and all-stars.

York Lions standout Anna Easty (Toronto) is the2013 OUA player of the year. The fifth-year Law student is thefirst member of the Lions to win MVP honours and it marks the firstyear since 2008 that the player of the year award has not gone to amember of the Guelph Gryphons.

A consistent and versatile player,Easty led the Lions to a 1-9-2 record and scored three goals fromthe midfield position. Easty has also been named to the all-starteam. It is her second OUA all-star recognition.

The OUA rookie of the year award goes to Easty’s teammate,defender Shanella Fernando. The Markham, Ont.,native clocked major minutes for the Lions, starting in 11 of 12games played. She recorded one goal during her rookie season, whichtied her for third in team scoring.

For the second year in a row, the Gail Wilson Award for outstandingcontribution to the community and sport of field hockey goes to amember of the Queen’s Gaels. Gaels forward KaraPogue (Haliburton, Ont.) is highly involved inQueen’s Athletes in Action (AIA) organization, a faith-basedgroup dedicated to helping athletes integrate their faith with highperformance sport participation. She acted as a representative ofAIA this summer at the FISU World University Games in Kazan,Russia. Pogue is a four-time academic all-Canadian.

The Toronto Varsity Blues finished the season with an 11-0-1record, and are represented on the all-star team by four athletes,representing each position. Fourth-year forward AllyEvanyshyn (Burlington, Ont.) led the league with 15 goals.This is her second all-star nod after being recognized in 2011.Speedy midfielder Tegan Stairs (Kitchener, Ont.)finished third in league scoring, notching nine goals in 11 games.This is the fourth-year athlete’s second all-starrecognition. Second-year defender Alison Lee(Mississauga, Ont.) joins her teammates on the all-star roster. Sheled OUA defenders in scoring, notching five goals from thebackfield and helped limit Toronto’s opposition to a measlyfour goals against. Rounding out Toronto’s all-stars isgoalkeeper Kathryn Williams (Burlington, Ont.).Williams appeared in nine games for the Blues and backstopped thedefending champions to another standout regular season. She led allOUA goalkeepers, conceding only four goals throughout theseason.

Third-year midfielder Erin Houle (Burlington,Ont.) and fifth-year forward Amy Wise (Surrey,B.C.) represent the Guelph Gryphons on the 2013 OUA all-star team.The Gryphons finished in second place with 9-1-2 record, thanks inpart to the scoring prowess of Wise and Houle. Wise led theGryphons with six goals and clocked major minutes, starting in all12 games. Houle added four goals from the midfield to finish secondin team scoring. This is the first all-star honour for bothathletes.

The Western Mustangs (5-5-1) have two representatives on thisyear’s all-star squad. Fourth-year forward KatelynnRoganowicz (Burlington, Ont.) netted a career-high 13goals this season, good enough for second place in the OUA scoringrace. This is her second honour after being named an OUA all-star ayear ago. Defender Megan Duffy (Ilderton, Ont.)makes her first appearance on the OUA field hockey all-star team.Despite playing a defensive role, fourth-year Duffy finished secondin team scoring with six goals.

Waterloo’s Stephanie Syner (Waterloo, Ont.)and McGill’s Kylie Nabata (North Vancouver,B.C.) round out the OUA all-star squad from the midfield position.Snyder registered two goals for the Warriors (4-5-2) while Nabatahelped the Martlets to an improved record (0-9-3).

In her ­­­­fourth year at the helm of theQueen’s Gaels, head coach Mary-Anne Reid hasbeen named this year’s OUA coach of the year. The Gaelsfinished 2013 with a 3-4-5 record. This is her first award.


Player of the Year
Anna Easty – York Lions, midfield

Rookie of the Year
Shanella Fernando – York Lions, defender

OUA Gail Wilson Award
Kara Pogue – Queen’s Gaels, forward

Coach of the Year
Mary-Anne Reid – Queen’s Gaels


Tegan Stairs – Toronto Varsity Blues, forward
Katelynn Roganowicz – Western Mustangs, forward
Anna Easty – York Lions, midfield
Erin Houle – Guelph Gryphons, midfield
Alison Lee – Toronto Varsity Blues, defender
Megan Duffy – Western Mustangs, defender
Kathryn Williams – Toronto Varsity Blues, goalkeeper
Amy Wise – Guelph Gryphons, forward
Kylie Nabata – McGill Martlets, midfield
Stephanie Snyder – Waterloo Warriors, midfield
Ally Evanyshyn – Toronto Varsity Blues, forward

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to scottharriganisn@gmail.com