Rugby legends to be inducted into IRB Hall of Fame

irb sevens 2

October 24, 2013 (ISN) – With just less than one month to go until the inaugural IRB World Rugby Conference and Exhibition, the IRB has announced the Rugby greats who will be inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame at the prestigious event.

Taking place on November 18 at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, the IRB Hall of Fame ceremony will be the eighth of the series and induct a total of 11 legends of the Game under the theme “the British & Irish Lions and Australia”.

The six Australian inductees are: Thomas Lawton Snr., John Thornett, Ken Catchpole, Mark Ella, David Campese and George Gregan. The other five inductees are Robert Seddon and the 1888 British team, David Bedell-Sivright, Bleddyn Williams and Jack Matthews, Ronnie Dawson and Gavin Hastings.

For the first time, the IRB Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place alongside the IRB World Rugby Conference and Exhibition, guaranteeing a star-studded line-up including many high-profile names from the world of international Rugby, and the newly-inducted Ronnie Dawson, Gavin Hastings, Mark Ella and George Gregan.


IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “The 2013 inductions include pioneers and playing greats from the Lions v. Australia series, who have not only excited but inspired many generations of players, fans and coaches.”

“The IRB Hall of Fame honours those that have shown outstanding dedication and commitment to Rugby as well as rewarding Unions and other organisations that have contributed so much to growing our sport around the world.”

“With these exciting inductions taking place alongside the inaugural IRB World Rugby Conference and Exhibition, I look forward to welcoming the international Rugby community to Dublin for what will be a spectacular celebration of Rugby and those that have contributed so much to our sport over the years.”

The inaugural IRB World Rugby Conference and Exhibition has been created to become a leading forum to discuss the emerging topics in the international Rugby community in the lead up to Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014, Rugby World Cup 2015 and the return of Rugby to the Olympic Games programme in 2016.

About the IRB Hall of Fame

Chaired by IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset, the IRB Hall of Fame honours Rugby greats who have enhanced the Game through their exceptional achievements. Players, entire teams, administrators, coaches, referees, members of the media and Rugby personalities are considered based on their outstanding contributions.

Each year, the IRB Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of individuals and organisations that have made outstanding contributions to the development of the Game worldwide. The theme of this year’s induction is “The Lions and Australia” – recognising the contribution of the British & Irish Lions to the development and prosperity of the Game in Australia.

The IRB Hall of Fame was launched in 2006 with the induction of Rugby School and William Webb Ellis. Since then the following legends have been inducted: Baron Pierre de Coubertin, Danie Craven, Wilson Whineray, Gareth Edwards, John Eales, The 1888 Natives Team and Joseph Warbrick, Ned Haig and the Melrose club, Jack Kyle, Philippe Sella, Hugo Porta, William Maclagan, Barry Heatlie, Bennie Osler, Cliff Morgan, Anthony O’Reilly, Frik du Preez, Syd Millar, Willie John McBride, Ian McGeechan, Jean Prat, Lucien Mias, Andre and Guy Boniface, Serge Blanco, Harry Vassall and Alan Rotherham, Cardiff RFC and Frank Hancock, David Gallaher, Barbarian FC and WP Carpmael, Mike Gibson, Roger Vanderfield, Richard Littlejohn, Nicholas Shehadie, John Kendal-Carpenter, David Kirk, Brian Lochore, Nick Farr-Jones, Bob Dwyer, Francois Pienaar, Kitch Christie, Rod Macqueen, Gareth Rees, Clive Woodward, Jonah Lomu, Jake White, Brian Lima, Agustín Pichot, Martin Johnson, John Smit, Gordon Tietjens, Ian and Donald Campbell, Yoshihiro Sakata, the 1924 Romanian Olympic Team, the gold medal-winning USA Olympic Teams of 1920 and 1924, Richard and Kennedy Tsimba, Alfred St George Hamersley, Vladimir Ilyushin and Waisale Serevi.

The IRB Hall of Fame induction panel, chaired by IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset, includes Gerald Davies, Nigel Starmer-Smith, Henri Garcia, Don Cameron and Pablo Mamone, Chris Rea, Jim Webster and Panel Secretary Chris Thau.

About the IRB World Rugby Conference and Exhibition

Taking place from November 18-19 at the Ballsbridge Hotel in Dublin, the IRB World Rugby Conference and Exhibition will create a truly international gathering of Rugby stakeholders. It will incorporate a series of meetings, a medical specific and general rugby conference, a variety of social activities, and an exhibition where organising committees of IRB events, Rugby World Cup Partners, industry suppliers and commercial partners will host meetings with international colleagues from around the world.

The IRB World Rugby Conference and Exhibition will include:

Private sessions:

  • IRB General Assembly
  • IRB Medical Commission Conference

Open to all:

  • Two-day rugby conference programme
  • Two-day exhibition
  • Networking and social programme