Vikes men’s rowing capture victories at Head of the Gorge, Head of the Elk

UVic-Logo web-(1)

By: James Nielsen, Vikes Communications

October 27, 2013, VICTORIA (ISN) – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s and women’s rowing teams hosted and competed in the annual Head of the Gorge and the Head of the Elk, Oct. 26 and 27.

UVic’s men’s varsity eights captured first place at Head of the Gorge, which featured a new layout from previous years. Sunday’s Head of the Elk saw the men’s eight also rowing to a decisive victory.







Optimal weather conditions were on hand as UVic powered to victory in the men’s eights. With last year’s eight winners UBC not racing varsity eight crews, the men finished with times of 11:39.4 to easily secure the victory. The men’s junior varsity eight crew finished in fourth and sixth, with times of 12:24.0 and 13:41, respectively, while UVic’s men’s pairs rowed to first and fifth place with times of 14:15.5 and 14:46.5 times.

“The junior varsity crews were definitely able to step up their game this weekend,” said men’s head coach Howard Campbell. “Both coxswains did a really good job.”

Weather continued to improve for the Head of the Elk, held Sunday, Oct. 27. UVic’s men’s eight dominated their race, finishing with a time of 24:40.8, over 35 seconds ahead of second-place Edmonton Rowing Club, while the junior eight crew finished middle of the pack in fifth with a time of 26:46.2.

“I’d like to thank both varsity crews on hosting this weekend’s events,” said Campbell. “We continue to receive rave reviews from all participants. My heartfelt thanks to all the teams that participated.”

The men’s rowing team will now turn their focus towards this year’s Canadian University Rowing Championships, taking place Nov. 2-3 in Montreal, Que.

Head of the Gorge/Elk results:

  • V8+: Cole Heatherington,Theron Finley, Noah Robinson, Jordan Duncan, Erik Sjolin, Eric Cameron, Jeff Britwistle, Brandon Carnduff, Jacob Koudys (Cox) (4th HOG, 1st HOE)
  • 2V8+: Sam Hogman, Jonathan Chisholm, Eric Laurin, David Nicmans, Mark Davies, Isaac Davies, Adam Donaldson, Sam Horn, Andrew Butler, Gabriel Elliot (Cox) (6th HOG)
  • 3V8+: Connor McGuigan, Maxim Ellison, Elyas Forstbaeur, Gareth Lindstrom, Will O’Connell, Sean Decter, Christopher Marshall, Sean Carnduff, Alex Clancy (Cox) (1st HOG)
  • 2x: Andrew Hendrickson, Sam Garber (5th HOG) | Lee Hall, Alex Walker (1st HOG)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!