WolfPack name team for 2013 CCAA Cross Country Nationals

thompson rivers_wolfpack-wolves-b-cmyk

October 27, 2013, Abbotsford, BC (ISN) – The Thompson Rivers University WolfPack have named their team for the upcoming 2013 Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Cross Country Championships.


Head coach Jack Miller made his selections following this weekend’s (Oct 26) running of the PACWEST championship in Abbotsford.

TRU will field a team of six women and six men for the Nationals, which will be held November 8-9 th at Humber College in Toronto, Ontario.

The WolfPack runners who will represent TRU at the Nationals are:

Women: Faryn Brown, Alesha Miller, Rolena Debruyn, Melissa Ryeo, Christa Miller, and Tiffany Adams.

Men: Ryan Pidirniak, Connor McKay, Mark Carolan, Conlan Sprickerhoff, Tanner Gainer, and Sunny Dulay.

Coaches: Jack Miller and Sharon Munk

The PAC WEST Championships were dominated by runners from the University of British Columbia Okanagan Heat.

The only TRU runners to finish in the top seven spots were Alesha Miller (Vernon, BC) , who was fifth in a time of 25:10:35 and Mark Carolan (Nanaimo, BC), who was seventh in 38:15:31.

Coach Miller had this to say: . : The TRU team had a good but not great competition. Both our top male and top female runners (Ryan Pidirniak(Coquitlam, BC) and Faryn Brown (Kamloops, BC)) had “off days” – Ryan cramped up badly and Did Not Finish and Faryn had some difficulties and although she finished close behind TRU runner Alesha Miller, she was not fast enough to qualify for the conference team. Connor McKay and Conlan Sprickerhoff ran in the Junior Mens race and finished 11th and 14th overall in a very strong field.”