Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 Pool Allocation Draw, October 30

IRB w rugby

October 28, 2013 (ISN) – The International Rugby Board invites members of the media to the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 Pool Allocation Draw in Hotel de Ville, Paris on Wednesday, October 30.

The ceremony will commence at 11:30 local time (10:30 GMT) and IRB and FFR officials will be available for comment afterwards.

There is limited space within the venue, so please contact IRB Tournament Communications Manager Eoin McHugh (details below) to register interest as soon as possible. A limited amount of television and radio broadcast equipment will be permitted to enter the venue itself and the post-draw media conference.

An official photographer will make available a pool of photographs to all media following the draw. Details of how to access those photographs will be provided. Other photographers are also welcome in the venue and will be assigned fixed positions.

The event will also be streamed live on www.rwcwomens.com from 11:30 on October 30. More information on this show piece event can be found on this site in the run-up to #WRWC2014.


The 12 teams qualified for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 are:

  • New Zealand, England, Australia (Band One)
  • Canada, USA, France (Band Two)
  • Ireland, Wales, Spain (Band Three)
  • Kazakhstan, Samoa, South Africa (Band Four)

Teams will be drawn into three pools from the four bands. Match schedules will be announced at a later date.

Further Information:

Eoin McHugh, IRB Tournament Communications Manager, +353 86 0212 196, email: eoin.mchugh@irb.com

Related Items/Links

Women’s Rugby World Cup website: http://www.rwcwomens.com/