Capers claim Subway AUS women’s soccer championship banner

Atlantic University_Sport_logo

November 3, 2013, MONCTON, N.B. (ISN) – The top-seeded and CIS No. 5-ranked Cape Breton Capers remained undefeated and claimed the program’s seventh AUS banner in the past 11 seasons with a 3-0 win over the Acadia Axewomen in the final of the 2013 Subway AUS women’s soccer championship hosted by Mount Allison University.

The Acadia Axewomen were on the field for the third day in a row, coming off a hard-fought 2-1 overtime win against the Dalhousie Tigers in yesterday’s semi-final and a 1-0 quarterfinal victory over the hosting Mounties on Friday.

The undefeated Cape Breton Capers’ first-place ranking in the AUS standings earned them a bye into yesterday’s semi-final matchup versus the UPEI Panthers who they ultimately topped 1-0.

Cape Breton opened the scoring eight minutes into the game with a Tiffany Johnson (Sudbury, Ont.) header goal. A second goal came late in the second half when 2013 AUS MVP and first team all-star Karolyne Blain (Copper Cliff, Ont.) converted a scramble in the box into a 2-0 lead for the Capers. The combination of high pressure and good possession play by Cape Breton prevented Acadia from recording a single shot on goal in the first half.

In the second, the Axewomen continued to press but were unable to find the goal they were looking for. In the 75th minute, Blain, who also led the league in scoring this season, converted a penalty kick for her 16th goal of the season and the final goal of the day.

Cape Breton would ultimately take home the 2013 Subway AUS women’s soccer championship banner.

Blain’s two-goal performance earned her Subway Player of the Game honours for the Capers. AUS Rookie of the year Emily Nickerson (Coldbrook, N.S.) would take home the honour for the Acadia Axewomen.

Cape Breton Capers’ Allison Bell-Davies (Pickering, Ont.), named an AUS second-team all-star this season, earned the championship MVP award.

The Capers will now travel to Toronto to compete in the CIS women’s soccer championship Nov. 7-10, hosted by the University of Toronto.