Vikes men row to third-place finish at Canadian University Rowing Championships

UVic-Logo web-(1)

November 3, 2013, VICTORIA (ISN) – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s rowing crews completed their final day of races at the 2013 Canadian University Rowing Championships, finishing in third-place overall. The crews faced challenging racing conditions at the 2-km course, located at McGill University’s Olympic Basin.

UVic’s men’s pair featuring Will O’Connell and Sean Decter finished first in their race with a time of 7:44.24, beating out second-place Western who posted a time of 7:52.48. The Vikes men’s double of Alex Walker and Lee Hall also finished first in a tight battle with Brock University, posting a winning time of 7:24.82 while Brock finished less than a second behind with a time of 7:25.22.

“The reality is that the level of competition at the event has grown in the last seventeen years,” said rowing head coach Howard Campbell. “It’s exciting to know that you really have to be at the top of your game to win the event.”

Vike Connor McGuigan finished third in the men’s single while teammate Walker placed fifth in the lightweight singles event. The Vikes men’s eight and lightweight four crews, facing strong headwinds in their races, rowed to fourth and sixth finishes, respectively.

“There was no breaking six minutes today,” said Campbell. “I don’t know that a world-class national team could have broken six minutes. It was a just a straight headwind down the course, probably at 15-kilometres an hour.”

Vikes Walker, O’Connell, McGuigan and Decter will remain out east to prepare for next weekend’s National Rowing Championships in Welland, Ont. taking place Nov. 8-10. Teammates David Nicmans, Ben Murphy, and Adam Donaldson will meet the team in Welland where they will train Friday.

Men’s individual results:

  • V8+: Maxim Ellison, Connor McGuigan, Elyas Forstbauer, Gareth Lindstrom, Will O’Connell, Sean Decter, Christopher Marshall, Sean Carnduff, Alexandra Clancy (4th, 0:06:39.09)
  • LM4+: Andrew Hendrickson, Sam Garber, Lee Hall, Alex Walker, Alexandra Clancy (6th, 0:07:41.19)
  • 2-: Will O’Connell, Sean Decter (1st, 0:07:44.24)
  • LM2x: Lee Hall, Alex Walker (1st, 00:07:24.82)
  • 1x: Connor McGuigan (9th) 0:09:02.22)
  • LM1x: Alex Walker (5th, 0:08:43.03)