Three Huskies named All-Stars


November 6, 2013 EDMONTON (ISN) – Huskie Defensive end Joel Seutter, safety Mark Ingram and defensive back Braxton Lawrence were all named to the 2013 Canada West football All-Star team.

After completing undefeated conference season, it is no surprise that the University of Calgary Dinos place 11 members on the 2013 Canada West football All-Star team, more than twice that of any other school.

Leading the way is Andrew Buckley, who tied with Manitoba pivot Jordan Yantz at the quarterback position. Kicker Johnny Mark makes his third straight appearance on the all-conference roster, this time as a unanimous selection. Mark, along with Chris Dobko, who makes his second consecutive All-Star roster, both made the CIS All-Canadian team in 2012. Another carryover for the Dinos from last year’s honourees is centre Sean McEwen

Following the Dinos were Manitoba at Regina, each with five players named to the All-Star team, with UBC placing four on the roster and Saskatchewan three. Alberta did not have any 2013 All-Stars.

Besides Mark, Regina’s Tevaughn Campbell was the only other unanimous selection, at cornerback. Campbell also made the team as the top return specialist in Canada West.

Following are the 2013 Canada West football All-Stars by position, with program of study, year of eligibility and hometown (*unanimous selection, listed alphabetically by position):

                                          2013 CANADA WEST FOOTBALL ALL-STARS

                                                     (*unanimous selection)


                                            University    Year     Hometown     Program

QB (tie) Andrew Buckley          Calgary         3rd       Calgary, AB      Kinesiology

QB (tie) Jordan Yantz              Manitoba        4th        Regina, SK      University 1

RB Anthony Coombs               Manitoba        3rd       Winnipeg, MB    Science

RB Mercer Timmis                   Calgary         2nd      Burlington, ON   Haskayne School of Business

WR Addison Richards              Regina           3rd       Regina, SK        Campion Science

WR Kolten Solomon                Regina           5th       Regina, SK        Campion Arts

IR Nic Demski                        Manitoba       3rd       Winnipeg, MB      Arts

IR Chris Dobko                      Calgary         5th       St. Albert, AB      Arts

C Sean McEwen                     Calgary         3rd       Calgary, AB        Science

T Alex McKay                         Manitoba       3rd        Winnipeg, MB     Arts

T Alec Pennell                        UBC              2nd        Port Coquitlam, BC  Arts

G Sukh Chungh                     Calgary         3rd        Port Coquitlam, BC  Arts

G Jas Dhillon                         UBC              3rd        Surrey, BC        Arts


DT Donovan Dale                  UBC              2nd        Saskatoon, SK      Kinesiology

DT Evan Gill                         Manitoba        3rd        Winnipeg, MB        Arts

DE Tyler Langlais                 Calgary          4th         Dryden, Ont.        Arts

DE Joel Seutter                    Saskatchewan 5th        Sherwood Park, AB Arts & Science

LB Doctor Cassama             Calgary          3rd         Kristianstad, SWE Arts

LB Michael Stefanovic          Regina            1st         Moose Jaw, SK     Campion Arts

Sam LB Tom Spoletini         Calgary           4th        Calgary, AB          Arts

S Mark Ingram                   Saskatchewan 4th         Imperial, SK         Agriculture & Bioresources

HB Cyril Iwanegbe              Calgary           2nd        Brooks, AB           Arts

HB Braxton Lawrence          Saskatchewan 5th        Saskatoon, SK       Business

CB *Tevaughn Campbell     Regina            2nd       Toronto, ON           Business Administration

CB Adam Laurensse           Calgary           1st        Sherwood Park, AB Arts

                                                         SPECIAL TEAMS

P Quinn van Gylswyk         UBC               1st          Victoria, BC            Arts

K *Johnny Mark                Calgary          3rd          Peterborough, ON   Science

RET Tevaughn Campbell    Regina            2nd        Toronto, ON            Business Administration

*unanimous choice

2013 Canada West All-Stars with previous selections

Anthony Coombs       Manitoba        2012 CIS 2nd, 2011 CIS 1st

Nic Demski               Manitoba        2012 CW, 2011 CIS 1st

Chris Dobko             Calgary          2012 CIS 2nd

Braxton Lawrence     Saskatchewan 2012 CW

Johnny Mark            Calgary          2012 CIS 2nd, 2011 CW

Sean McEwen          Calgary           2012 CW

Kolten Solomon       Regina            2012 CW

Winners of the Canada West individual football awards will be announced at 12:00 p.m. MT on Thursday, November 7.

CIS All-Canadians will be announced at Hilton Québec Hotel in Quebec City on Thursday, November 21, two days before the 49th Vanier Cup on Saturday, Nov. 23 at Stake TELUS on the University of Laval campus.

On Saturday, the Calgary Dinos host the Manitoba Bisons in the 77th Hardy Cup game, 2:00 p.m. MST at McMahon Stadium and LIVE on Shaw TV, with the winner hosting the Mitchell Bowl on November 16th.