Bouchard named WTA newcomer of the year

Tennis Canada

November 20, 2013, Montreal (ISN) – The WTA announced Wednesday that Eugenie Bouchard (Westmount, QC) has been named “Newcomer of the Year” as part of the Tour’s annual awards. The award was voted on by members of the media.

Bouchard earned the honour thanks to a standout 2013 season. She started the year ranked no. 144 and finished it ranked more than 100 places higher at no. 32, making her the WTA’s highest ranked teenager. Bouchard’s results include reaching her first WTA final in Osaka where she fell in three sets to Samantha Stosur. She also posted four Top 15 wins. The 19-year-old was nominated for the award along with Madison Keys and Monica Puig.

Bouchard is the first Canadian since Carling Bassett in 1983 to be named “Newcomer of the Year”. Milos Raonic won the ATP’s “Newcomer of the Year” award in 2011.

Former winners of the award include Kim Clijsters, Serena Williams, Venus Williams, Maria Sharapova, and Martina Hingis.

About Tennis Canada

Founded in 1890, Tennis Canada is a non-profit, national sport association with a mission to lead the growth of tennis in Canada and a vision to become a world-leading tennis nation. We value teamwork, passion, integrity, innovation and excellence. Tennis Canada owns and operates the premier Rogers Cup presented by National Bank WTA and ATP World Tour events, eight professional ITF sanctioned events and financially supports 11 other professional tournaments in Canada. Tennis Canada operates junior national training centres/programs in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver. Tennis Canada is a proud member of the International Tennis Federation, the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the International Wheelchair Tennis Association, and serves to administer, sponsor and select the teams for Davis Cup, Fed Cup, the Olympic and Paralympic Games and all wheelchair, junior and senior national teams. Tennis Canada invests its surplus into tennis development. For more information on Tennis Canada please visit our Web site at: and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.