November 20, 2013, Chester, Pa. (ISN) – Philadelphia Union forward Conor Casey was named one of three finalists for the 2013 MLS Comeback Player of the Year, Major League Soccer announced today. The winners for each award will be revealed in the coming weeks.

In his first year with the Union, Casey scored 10 goals and added five assists in 31 appearances during the 2013 MLS Regular Season, helping lead the club to its most victories (12) in franchise history. Before joining Philadelphia, Casey suffered a season-ending torn Achilles in 2011 as a member of the Colorado Rapids and scored two goals the following year. The winner of Comeback Player of the Year is scheduled to be announced by MLS Dec. 2. Other finalists in the category include Kevin Alston (New England Revolution) and Lamar Neagle (Seattle Sounders FC)

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order below for each award, earned the most votes in polling of three voting groups:

  • Current MLS players
  • MLS Clubs (Coaches, Technical Directors, Chief Business Officers and PR/Community Relations)
  • Media members who covered MLS regularly in 2013

This season’s most outstanding individual plays will be honored on Thursday, Dec. 5 when the AT&T Goal of the Year and the Save of the Year are announced. Voting for the Goal and Save of the Year is conducted on the League’s official web site  

The awards announcements conclude on Thursday, Dec. 5 with the unveiling of the 2013 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player.

2013 Major League Soccer Awards Finalists

(Listed in alphabetical order by last name within each award category)

AT&T Rookie of the Year Finalists

  • Deshorn Brown (Colorado Rapids)
  • Dillon Powers (Colorado Rapids)
  • DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Xbox Individual Fair Play Finalists*

  • Jalil Anibaba (Chicago Fire)
  • Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)
  • Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers)

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Xbox Team Fair Play Finalists*

  • Houston Dynamo
  • LA Galaxy
  • Vancouver Whitecaps FC

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fewest fouls committed, cards received, and on subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Defender of the Year Finalists

  • Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City)
  • Jose Goncalves (New England Revolution)
  • Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)

MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year Finalists

  • Jeb Brovsky (Montreal Impact)
  • Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)
  • Matt Reis (New England Revolution)

Referee of the Year Finalists

  • Ismail Elfath
  • Hilario Grajeda
  • Baldomero Toledo

Assistant Referee of the Year Finalists

  • Frank Anderson
  • Bill Dittmar
  • Kermit Quisenberry

Coach of the Year Finalists

  • Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)
  • Mike Petke (New York Red Bulls)
  • Caleb Porter (Portland Timbers)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

  • Kevin Alston (New England Revolution)

Conor Casey (Philadelphia Union)

  • Lamar Neagle (Seattle Sounders FC)

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

  • Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City)
  • Donovan Ricketts (Portland Timbers)
  • Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

  • Jose Goncalves (New England Revolution)
  • Nigel Reo-Coker (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
  • Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists

  • Marco DiVaio (Montreal Impact)
  • Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy)
  • Mike Magee (Chicago Fire)

Awards Announcements Schedule: 

Schedule subject to change

  • November 25: AT&T Rookie of the Year, Xbox Fair Play Individual & Team of the Year
  • November 26: MLS Defender of the Year, MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, and Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year
  • December 2: MLS Coach of the Year and Comeback Player of the Year
  • December 3: 2013 MLS Best XI
  • December 4: Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year and Newcomer of the Year
  • December 5: AT&T Goal of the Year, MLS Save of the Year and Volkswagen MLS MVP


Keystone Sports and Entertainment, LLC, is the ownership group of Philadelphia Union led by CEO & Operating Partner Nick Sakiewicz.  The group launched the Philadelphia Union’s inaugural season on March 25, 2010 and opened PPL Park on June 27, 2010.  Since joining the MLS, the Union have faced off against European powers Celtic FC, Manchester United, Everton, Real Madrid, Schalke 04, Aston Villa, Stoke City FC and Mexican powers Chivas de Guadalajara and Pumas UNAM.  PPL Park holds approximately 18,500 seats and has hosted various events such as the 2012 MLS All-Star Game, USWNT vs. China, 2012 Army/Navy Soccer Cup, 2012 Big East Men’s Soccer Championship and 2011 and 2012 USA Sevens Collegiate Rugby Championships.  Scheduled events in 2013 at PPL Park include the 2013 NCAA Men’s College Cup.  For more information about Philadelphia Union, visit