MONTREAL – Swimming Canada’s Big Splash Awards Week continued Tuesday as Benoit Huot was named the Team Aquatic Supplies Male Para-Swimmer of the Year.

The announcement was made on Breakfast Television Montreal, which also hosted Female Para-Swimmer of the Year winner Valerie Grand-Maison Monday.

The annual award recognizes the best performance by a Canadian male Para-swimmer at the premier international meet of the year.

This year’s premier international meet was the IPC Swimming World Championships, which were hosted at Parc Jean-Drapeau in Montreal from Aug. 12 to 18.

Montreal was the first North American city to host since the event was implemented in 1998, and Huot delivered a gold medal in the 200-metre individual medley. It was the 23rd world championships medal in the career of the decorated Paralympian, who competes in the S10 category.

It’s a week-long celebration of the best in Canadian swimming as the Big Splash Awards Week continues through Friday.

A major award will be announced each day through a variety of media. The setting will shift west Wednesday as Breakfast Television Vancouver ( reveals the OMEGA Male Swimmer of the Year winner at 10:40 a.m. Eastern Time.

The OMEGA Female Swimmer of the Year will be revealed later in the week, as will the Open Water Swimmer of the Year and the People’s Choice Race of the Year.