IPC HeaderLogo

December 4, 2013 (ISN) – The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced its shortlist for November’s Athlete of the Month award, and the public can now vote for the winner via the poll on the www.Paralympic.org homepage. 

This month’s nominees include:

Nabil Guedoun (Algeria, wheelchair basketball): He led Algeria to gold at the IWBF Africa Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Championships and was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament. Algeria beat tournament favourites South Africa to earn themselves a spot at next year’s World Championships.

Yui Kamiji (Japan, wheelchair tennis): She became the first women’s singles non-Dutch winner ever at the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters in the event’s 20 year history. She also won the ITF Wheelchair Doubles Masters title.

Tatyana McFadden (USA, athletics): She made history by becoming the first athlete to capture a marathon Grand Slam after winning the New York City Marathon in 1:59:13, nearly four minutes ahead of second-place finisher Wakako Tsuchida of Japan. Earlier in the year she won the other three major marathons – Boston, London and Chicago.

Mansour Pourmirzaei (Iran, powerlifting): The 33-year-old stunned the crowd at the IPC Powerlifting Asian Open Championships, lifting 276kg in the men’s +107kg category to smash the world record by 36kg and win gold at Titiwangsa Stadium in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Timur Tuchinov (Russia, archery): The Paralympic and European champion finally won his first individual world title, claiming gold in the recurve men’s standing individual event at the World Archery Para-Championships in Bangkok, Thailand. He then won another gold in the men’s team recurve open finals.

Marius Zibolis (Lithuania, goalball): He was the star player of the Lithuanian team that won gold at the IBSA Goalball European Championships, scoring the squad’s only goal during the regulation period of the gold-medal game against Spain.

The public now has until 12:00 (CEST) on 11 December to vote for which athlete it thought had the best performance last month.

The nominations are compiled from submissions by National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) and International Federations (IFs).