Curl BC_Colour_Logo

December 16, 2013, Vancouver, BC (ISN) – Four men’s curling teams have punched their tickets to the Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship.

Two rinks from Vancouver Island and two rinks from the Thompson-Okanagan region triumphed at regional playdowns held over the weekend.

Men’s teams without a berth now have just one more chance to qualify for the championship – at an open playdown taking place in Salmon Arm January 10-12.

The A event winner from the Vancouver Island playdowns was Team Dangerfield, representing Victoria Curling Centre. The Victoria-based players include Skip Neil Dangerfield, Third Denis Sutton, Second Darren Boden, Lead Glen Allen and Fifth Will Sutton.

The B event winner was Team Montgomery, from Duncan Curling Club. Skip Jason Montgomery, from Duncan, is joined by Third Jody Epp (Victoria), Second Miles Craig (Shawnigan Lake), and Lead Will Duggan (Mill Bay).

The Thompson-Okanagan regional playdowns produced a winner from Kamloops and a winner from Kelowna.

Team Richard, representing the Kelowna Curling Club, were the A event winners. Jeff Richard, from Kelowna, skips the team, which is rounded out by Third Tom Shypitka (Cranbrook), Second Jay Wakefield (Vancouver) and Lead David Harper (Kelowna).

Team DeCap, representing the Kamloops Curling Club, took the B event win. Skip Scott DeCap, Third Ron Douglas, Second Pat DeCap, Lead Grant Olsen and Fifth John Maskeiwich all hail from Kamloops.

To see the results of Curl BC playdowns, visit and search under the British Columbia (Curl BC) tab.

The 2014 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship takes place from February 5-9, 2014, at the Vancouver Curling Club. Visit for more information about the event or to purchase tickets.