Curl BC_Colour_Logo

by Rebecca Connop Price

December 26, 2013, Chilliwack, BC (ISN) – The 2014 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships get started today. Chilliwack Curling Club will host eight Junior Men’s and eight Junior Women’s teams from today until the finals on December 31. The finals will be televised on Sportsnet.

Visit for the TV schedule.

From tonight at 7:30pm, the end-by-end results of all draws can be viewed on the British Columbia (Curl BC) tab.

Admission to the championships is free. For information about the Chilliwack Curling Club, visit

Bruce Renwick, Manager of Chilliwack Curling Club, said: “The club has been hard at work and we are ready to put on a first-class event for the athletes.  We are looking forward to a great show by the ‘Future Rock Stars of the Game’.”

Wendi Prinse, Chair of the host committee, said: “The Chilliwack Curling Club is proud to be hosting these championships. It’s going to be an exciting few days of curling.”

On the Junior Women’s side, eight teams will battle for the title, including the defending champions.

The Brown rink from Kamloops Curling Club, with Skip Corryn Brown, Third Erin Pincott, Second Samantha Fisher and Lead Sydney Fraser will be back to defend their BC title.

The foursome from Kamloops won a gold medal at the 2013 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Fort McMurray, Alberta.

They will be joined at the Junior Women’s event by Team Edwards, from Vernon Curling Club. The team is made up of Skip Amy Edwards (Vernon), Third Sydney Hofer (Vernon), Second Kylie Tokairin (Enderby) and Lead Courtney Woo (Coldstream).

Team Van Osch, from Nanaimo Curling Centre and Delta Thistle Curling Club, were A event qualifiers at Coastal playdowns. The team is made up of past juvenile and junior provincial winners – but this is the first year this line-up has curled on the same team. Kalia Van Osch (Nanaimo) skips the team with third Marika Van Osch (Nanaimo), Second Sarah Daniels (Delta), Lead Ashley Sanderson (Coquitlam) and Fifth Megan Daniels (Delta).

Team Hawes, from the Royal City Curling Club, were the second A event qualifiers. The team is skipped by Dezaray Hawes (Anmore) and is rounded out by Third Alexandra Renwick (Chilliwack), Second Gabrielle Plonka (Vancouver) and Lead Casey Freeman (Mission).

Team Egan from the Coquitlam Curling Centre, made it through at the B event. The team is skipped by Briana Egan (Port Coquitlam), and is rounded out by Third Caitlin Campbell (Coquitlam), Second Janice Pang (Coquitlam) and Lead Angelique Miller (Coquitlam).

Team Jensen, representing the Victoria Curling Centre, also made it through at the B event. Three of the women from the team have also already qualified for the BC Scotties, so they will be travelling to two championship events this winter. The team is skipped by Shawna Jensen (Tsawwassen) and is rounded out by Merit Thorson (Third, Victoria), Lauren Legan (Second, West Kelowna), Tatianna Simicic (Lead, Surrey).

Two teams representing the Juan De Fuca Curling Centre qualified in the C Event. Team Tinkler is skipped by Brandi Tinkler (Victoria) and is rounded out by Third Ashley Nordin (Kamloops), Second Zetteh Gunner (Armstrong) and Lead Nicky Block (Victoria). The second team from Juan De Fuca was team Coulombe, skipped by Mariah Coulombe (Victoria) and rounded out by Katherine Silversides (Third, Victoria), Bailey Tinkler (Second, Victoria), Sydney Brilz (Lead, Victoria) and Jordan Koster (Fifth, Courtenay/ Comox).

On the Junior Men’s side, Team Reid, from the Victoria Curling Centre, will be at the championships. The team is made up of Sanjay Bowry (Victoria), who throws fourth rocks and who was part of the team that travelled to the junior nationals last year, as well as skip Nolan Reid (Duncan), and brothers Calvin (Second, Victoria) and Byron (Lead, Victoria) Heels.

Team Tanaka from Tunnel Town Curling Club and Langley Curling Club have also qualified. The team is skipped by Cody Tanaka (Delta) and is rounded out by Travis Cameron (Third, Richmond), Nicholas Umbach (Second, Coquitlam), and Donny Mackintosh (Lead, Tsawwassen).

Team de Jong, from the Victoria Curling Centre, qualified in the Coastal Playdowns B event, with Skip Cameron de Jong, Third Brook Calibaba, Second Ryan Cassidy and Lead Alex Horvath. The team all reside in Victoria.

Team Tardi, from Langley Curling Club, were also B event qualifiers. Tyler Tardi (Surrey) skips the team with brother Jordan Tardi (Surrey) playing third and Nicholas Meister (Langley) at second and Zachary Umbach (Coquitlam) at lead.

Team Habkirk, from the Coquitlam Curling Centre, qualified in the C event. The team, all from Coquitlam, is made up of three players who won gold at the 2013 Tim Hortons BC Juvenile Curling Championships. Skip Kyle Habkirk is joined by Third Ryan Harbrink, Second Kevin Harbrink and Lead Kento Sato.

Team Parker, from the Royal City Curling Club, were the final C event qualifiers. Nick Parker (Abbotsford) skips the team, rounded out by Third Dylan Heimburger (Langley), Second Maxim Langlais (North Vancouver), Lead Jordan Kiss (Abbotsford) and fifth Jay Ueda.

The junior men will be joined by the Team Umpherville from Beaver Valley Curling Club, who won the Kootenays playdown. The team is made up of Skip Justin Umpherville (Fruitvale), Third Spenser Soukeroff (Trail), Second Kasey O’Hara (Fruitvale) and Lead Zack Howes (Fruitvale).

Team Cliff, from the Vernon Curling Club, is the other Interior rink to have qualified. The team is made up of Skip Brendan Cliff (Armstrong), Third Matthew Schiman (Vernon), Second Deven Schmidt (Vernon) and Lead Matthew Young (Vernon).

The winning junior men’s and junior women’s teams will travel to the 2014 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Liverpool, Nova Scotia, from January 18-26.