Curl BC_Colour_Logo

by Rebecca Connop Price

December 31, 2013, Chilliwack, BC (ISN) – It will be the Island versus the Mainland at the finals for the 2014 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships.

And the match-ups at Chilliwack Curling Club will be played out on TV screens across the nation as the Junior Women’s (10:30 a.m.) and Junior Men’s (3 p.m.) finals will be broadcast live on Sportsnet Pacific. Visit for the TV schedule.

On the Junior Women’s side, a team of talented curlers from Vancouver Island and the Lower Mainland will be hoping to take the title away from the defending national champions, Team Brown, from Kamloops. On the Junior Men’s side, Victoria’s Team de Jong are looking to end the winning ways of Langley’s Team Tardi, who go undefeated into the final.

The Brown rink from Kamloops Curling Club, with Skip Corryn Brown, Third Erin Pincott, Second Samantha Fisher and Lead Sydney Fraser, will be difficult to beat, given their wealth of experience. The foursome from Kamloops won a gold medal at the 2013 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Fort McMurray, Alberta, last year.

But the members of Team Van Osch, from Nanaimo Curling Centre and Delta Thistle Curling Club, all have experience at the national level and will no doubt be strong challengers. The team is made up of past juvenile and junior provincial winners – but this is the first year this line-up has curled on the same team. Kalia Van Osch (Nanaimo) skips the team with third Marika Van Osch (Nanaimo), Second Sarah Daniels (Delta), Lead Ashley Sanderson (Coquitlam) and Fifth Megan Daniels (Delta).

At the semi-finals yesterday (Monday, Dec. 30), Team Van Osch were able to get past Team Jensen, representing the Victoria Curling Centre, to advance to the final. Three of the women from the bronze-medal winning Team Jensen have also already qualified for the BC Scotties, so they will get another chance to make their mark. The team is skipped by Shawna Jensen (Tsawwassen) and is rounded out by Merit Thorson (Third, Victoria), Lauren Legan (Second, West Kelowna) and Tatianna Simicic (Lead, Surrey).

On the Junior Men’s side, Team Tardi, from Langley Curling Club, got the bye to the final after going through the championship undefeated. Tyler Tardi (Surrey) skips the team with brother Jordan Tardi (Surrey) playing third, Nicholas Meister (Langley) at second and Zachary Umbach (Coquitlam) at lead.

Team de Jong, from the Victoria Curling Centre, got past club-mates Team Reid, to take the semis and win the chance to play Team Tardi in the final. The team, with Skip Cameron de Jong, Third Brook Calibaba, Second Ryan Cassidy and Lead Alex Horvath, have recorded only one loss in the championship so far.

Team Reid were awarded the bronze medals yesterday. The team is made up of Sanjay Bowry (Victoria), who throws fourth rocks and who was part of the team that travelled to the junior nationals last year, as well as skip Nolan Reid (Duncan), and brothers Calvin (Second, Victoria) and Byron (Lead, Victoria) Heels.

The winning junior men’s and junior women’s teams will travel to the 2014 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Liverpool, Nova Scotia, from January 18-26.