Canada’s National Junior Team advances to quarter-finals

93
World junior 2014 Malmo

by Jason LaRose

December 31, 2013, MALMÖ, Sweden (ISN) – Canada’s National Junior Team has advanced to the quarter-finals at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö after finishing first in Group A with a 3-0-1 (wins-losses-overtime losses) record in the preliminary round.

Canada concluded preliminary round play Tuesday with a 3-2 win over the United States to clinch first place in its group. Nic Petan (Delta, B.C./Portland, WHL), Connor McDavid (Newmarket, Ont./Erie, OHL) and Curtis Lazar (Vernon, B.C./Edmonton, WHL) scored the goals for Canada, while goaltender Zach Fucale (Rosemère, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) made 24 saves.

The U.S. finished second in Group A, followed by the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Sweden, Finland, Russia and Switzerland were the top four finishers in Group B, all advancing to the quarter-finals.

Quarter-final schedule (Jan. 2)

United States vs. Russia                           6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT

Finland vs. Czech Republic                      8:30 a.m. ET/5:30 a.m. PT

Canada vs. Switzerland                           11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT

Sweden vs. Slovakia                               1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT

Semifinal match-ups will see the winner of Canada-Switzerland face the winner of Finland-Czech Republic, and the winner of United States-Russia meet the winner of Sweden-Slovakia.

CLICK HERE FOR THE 2014 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

CLICK HERE FOR CANADA’S NATIONAL JUNIOR TEAM ROSTER

All of Canada’s games at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship are broadcast LIVE by TSN/RDS. Check your local listings, www.tsn.ca or www.rds.ca for details in your area.

Canada has medalled at 14 of the last 15 IIHF World Junior Championships, including gold medal performances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009, silver medals in 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2010 and 2011, and bronze medals in 2000, 2001 and 2012.

For more information on Canada’s National Junior Team and the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, and follow along via social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!