canadian freestyle ski

December 31, 2013, Calgary, Alberta (ISN) – A dedicated group of volunteers will be acknowledged when the world’s athletes gather in Calgary this weekend for the FIS Halfpipe and Mogul events.

Thirty-one Albertans, all of whom have volunteered for at least five years will be thanked and presented with certificates by the Canadian Freestyle Ski Association.

“The level of commitment and dedication of all our volunteers is never a surprise to me,” said Larry Bilton, chair of the COP World Cup organizing committee. “The five-year members have shown that extra level of commitment being part of our World Cups. Friendships have been made and are re-kindled every year as folks come together to help produce this world-class event. I have been fortunate being part of this group and have been extremely proud of our accomplishments over these years.”

Among Canadian team athletes competing in Halfpipe this weekend will be Albertans Megan Gunning (Calgary), Keltie Hansen (Edmonton), Mike Riddle (Sherwood Park) and Chris Atkinson (Calgary). Halfpipe qualifications are scheduled on Thursday, January 2 between 8:30 a.m. and 3:15 p.m. Finals will take place Friday, January 3 between 12:00 and 1:45 p.m.

Moguls, featuring 2010 Gold Medallist Alex Bilodeau, 2013 World Cup Champion Mikaël Kingsbury and last year’s Calgary Gold and Silver medallists Justine and Chloé Dufour-Lapointe will take place on Saturday January 4. Local boy Luke Ulsifer (Calgary) will also be competing. Qualifications begin at 9:30 a.m. Finals will start at 1:30 p.m.

All events are free and open to the public.

Volunteers being honoured this weekend are:

  • Al Ulsifer
  • Ali Nelner
  • Alice Adams-Wood
  • Brayden Bilton
  • Colleen MacDonald
  • Dave Nelner
  • Denise Schneider
  • Dr Oliver David
  • Elisa Kurylowicz
  • Gigi Bilton
  • Graham Reiser
  • Greg Winter
  • Jeremy Batchelor
  • Karen Ulsifer
  • Kathy Kraljic
  • Kathy Waddell
  • Ken Huyghe
  • Kevin Joosten
  • Larry Bilton
  • Laura Scott-Lane
  • Linda Hunter
  • Maureen Calder
  • Megan Bilton
  • Michael Barr
  • Michelle Leslie
  • Mike Poulin
  • Neil Orr
  • Rosemary Joosten
  • Scott McKnight
  • Steve Hunter
  • Trisha Drake