Canada’s National Junior Team advances to semifinals

47
World junior 2014 Malmo

by Jason LaRose

January 2, 2014, MALMÖ, Sweden (ISN) – Canada’s National Junior Team has advanced to the semifinals at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö after a 4-1 win over Switzerland in Thursday’s quarter-finals.

Canada will face Finland in the semifinals on Saturday, with puck drop scheduled for 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT. The game can be seen LIVE on TSN/RDS; check local listings in your area for broadcast details.

On Thursday, Griffin Reinhart (West Vancouver, B.C./Edmonton, WHL) had a goal and an assist, Anthony Mantha (Longueuil, Que./Val-d’Or, QMJHL) netted the game-winner on a second-period penalty shot and Curtis Lazar (Vernon, B.C./Edmonton, Alta.) scored for the third consecutive game. Derrick Pouliot (Weyburn, Sask./Portland, WHL) had the other goal for Canada, which is into the semifinals for the 16th consecutive year.

Semifinal schedule (Jan. 4)

Sweden vs. Russia                      9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT

Canada vs. Finland                     1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT

Semifinal winners will meet Sunday in the gold medal game at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT, while the bronze medal game is set for 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT, both at Malmö Arena.

CLICK HERE FOR THE 2014 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

CLICK HERE FOR CANADA’S NATIONAL JUNIOR TEAM ROSTER

All of Canada’s games at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship are broadcast LIVE by TSN/RDS. Check your local listings, www.tsn.ca or www.rds.ca for details in your area.

Canada has medalled at 14 of the last 15 IIHF World Junior Championships, including gold medal performances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009, silver medals in 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2010 and 2011, and bronze medals in 2000, 2001 and 2012.

For more information on Canada’s National Junior Team and the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, and follow along via social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!