Canada’s National Junior Team to play for bronze medal

85
World junior 2014 Malmo

by Jason LaRose

January 4, 2014, MALMÖ, Sweden (ISN) – Canada’s National Junior Team will play for the bronze medal at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö after a 5-1 loss to Finland in Saturday’s semifinals.

Canada will meet Russia in the bronze medal game on Sunday, with puck drop scheduled for 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT. The game can be seen LIVE on TSN/RDS; check local listings in your area for broadcast details.

It is the second consecutive year the Canadians and Russians will play for the bronze medal.

On Saturday, Jonathan Drouin (Huberdeau, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) scored the lone goal for Canada, which advanced to the semifinals at the IIHF World Junior Championship for the 16th consecutive year with a 4-1 quarter-final win over Switzerland on Thursday. Zach Fucale (Rosemère, Que./Halifax, QMJHL) made 18 saves in the Canadian goal.

Medal game schedule (Jan. 5)

Canada vs. Russia (bronze)         9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT

Sweden vs. Finland (gold)           1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT

CLICK HERE FOR THE 2014 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

CLICK HERE FOR CANADA’S NATIONAL JUNIOR TEAM ROSTER

All of Canada’s games at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship are broadcast LIVE by TSN/RDS. Check your local listings, www.tsn.ca or www.rds.ca for details in your area. 

For more information on Canada’s National Junior Team and the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, and follow along via social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!