Last Olympic qualification events and Crystal Globe updates for the Canadian Snowboard Team

92
canada snowboard_logo

by Nadia M’Seffar

January 9, 2014, VANCOUVER (ISN) – The competitive Alpine snowboard season continues this week with two PSL FIS World Cups in Bad Gastein, Austria. As no other PSL events are set to take place this year, the FIS PSL Crystal Globe will be awarded on Sunday. Canadian Caroline Calvé is the current leader and will be competing in hopes of keeping the yellow bib throughout the weekend.

In addition, snowboard cross athletes will be competing at two FIS World Cups in Vallnord-Arcalís, Andorra. These World Cups are the last Olympic qualifying events for the snowboard cross athletes.

Lastly, the Halfpipe team and some Slopestyle athletes will be in Breckenridge, Colorado for the Sprint U.S. Grand Prix.

For a snowboard Olympic qualification ranking update please consult today’s cheat sheet.

Please reply to this email if you would like a call from any athletes after the finish of any events.

ALPINE SNOWBOARDING

  • Event: FIS World Cup PSL #1 (replaces Jauerling)
  • Where: Bad Gastein, Austria
  • When: Friday January 10th 2014. The event is scheduled to end at 13:45 local time, which is 04:45 PST or 07:45 EST
  • Event: FIS World Cup PSL #2
  • Where: Bad Gastein, Austria
  • When: Sunday January 12th 2014. The event is scheduled to end at 14:50 local time, which is 05:50 PST or 08:50 EST

Canadian athletes:

  • Matthew Morison (Blackstock, ON)
  • Jasey Jay Anderson (Lac Supérieur, QC)
  • Darren Gardner (Burlington, ON)
  • Steve Barlow (Courtice, ON)
  • Indrik Trahan (Trois-Rivières, QC)
  • Matthew Carter (Maryhill, ON)
  • Caroline Calvé (Lachine, QC)
  • Ariane Lavigne (Lac Supérieur, QC)
  • Marianne Leeson (Burlington, ON)
  • Michael Lambert (Toronto, ON)

SNOWBOARDCROSS

  • Event: FIS World Cup SBX
  • Where: Vallnord-Arcalís, Andorra
  • When: Saturday January 11th. The event is scheduled to end at 16:00 local time, which is 07:00 PST or 010:00 EST
  • Event: FIS World Cup SBX
  • Where: Vallnord-Arcalís, Andorra
  • When: Sunday January 12th 2014. The event is scheduled to end at 15:10 local time, which is 06:10 PST or 09:10 EST

Canadian athletes:

  • Robert Fagan (Squamish, BC)
  • Chris Robanske (Calgary, AB)
  • Jake Holden (Caledon, ON)
  • Kevin Hill (Vernon, BC)
  • Thomas Pitman (Trail, BC)
  • Baptiste Brochu (Saguenay, QC)
  • Dominique Maltais (Petite-Rivière-St Francois, QC)
  • Maelle Ricker (Squamish, BC)
  • Carle Brenneman (Whistler, BC)
  • Michelle Brodeur (Calgary, AB)
  • Tess Critchlow (Kelowna, BC)
  • Zoe Bergermann (Acton, ON)

HALFPIPE

  • Event: Sprint U.S. Grand Prix
  • Where: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA
  • When: Saturday January 11th 2014. The event is scheduled to end at 13:30 local time, which is 12:30 PST or 15:30 EST

Canadian athletes:

  • Brad Martin (Ancaster, ON)
  • Alex Duckworth (Kingsburg ,NS)
  • Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, BC)
  • Calynn Irwin (Toronto, ON)
  • Joe Hills (Calgary, AB)

SLOPESTYLE

  • Event: Sprint U.S. Grand Prix
  • Where: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA
  • When: Friday January 10th 2014. The event is scheduled to end at 15:00 local time, which is 14:00 PST or 17:00 EST

Canadian athletes:

  • Michael Ciccarelli (Ancaster, ON)
  • Michael Roy (L’Ange-Gardien, QC)
  • Maxence Parrot (Cowansville, QC)
  • Spencer O’Brien (Courtenay, BC)
  • Audrey McManiman (St-Ambroise de Kildare, QC)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!