Juvenile curlers head to BC Winter Games

Curl BC_Colour_Logo

by Rebecca Connop Price

January 15, 2014, Vancouver (ISN) – Fifteen juvenile curling teams have qualified for the BC Winter Games. Eight boys’ teams and seven girls’ teams have triumphed in their respective zones to earn the chance to compete at the Games in Mission from February 20-23. Curling will take place at the Mission Granite Curling Club.

Team Bartlett from Grand Forks and Team Walgren from Nelson qualified in Zone 1 (Kootenays). Team Bartlett is made up of Skip Zane Bartlett, Third Evan Turgeon, Second Jordan Field, Lead Colin Anderson and Fifth Devin Anderson. Team Walgren is made up of Skip Lauren Walgren, Third Christine Cutler, Second Robyn Flynn and Lead Noelle Wang.

Team Love and Team Huitema, both from Vernon, qualified in Zone 2 (Thompson Okanagan). Team Love is made up of Skip Thomas Love, Third Erik Colwell, Second Brendan Chapple and Lead Johnathan Schwartz. Team Huitema is made up of Erin Huitema, skip, Third Winter Harvey, Second Sarah Huitema and Lead Megan McGillcray.

Team Tardi from Langley, Team Hawes from Royal City and Team Drexel from Coquitlam qualified in Zone 3 (Fraser Valley). Team Tardi is made up of Tyler Tardi, skip, Third Nicholas Umbach, Second Scottie Kryski and Lead Joshua Desrosiers. Team Hawes is made up of Dezaray Hawes, skip, Third Cailin Cooke, Second Jaymee Lynn and Lead Everly Royea. Team Drexel is made up of Heather Drexel, skip, Third Sarah Loken, Second Janice Pang and Lead Angelique Miller.

Team Carpenter from Royal City qualified in Zone 4 (Fraser River-Delta). The team is made up of Skip Brayden Carpenter, Third Tyler Proctor, Second Breyden Chong and Lead Horace Mak.

Team Ueda from the North Shore Winter Club qualified in Zone 5 (Vancouver-Squamish). The team is made up of Skip Jay Ueda, Third Cullen Quek, Second Arthur Lee, Lead Keegan Lennie and Fifth Matthew Chan.

Team Cassidy and Team Tinkler from the Juan de Fuca Curling Club qualified in Zone 6 (Vancouver Island-Central Coast). Team Cassidy is made up of Ryan Cassidy, skip, Alex Horvath, third, Derek Chandler, second, and Scott Gray, lead. Team Tinkler is made up of Bailey Tinkler, skip, Jordan Koster, third, Sydney Brilz, second, and Julia Kresse, lead.

Team Chmelyk from Fraser Lake and Team Reese-Hansen from Kitimat qualified in Zone 7 (North West). Team Chmelyk is made up of Skip Julian Chmelyk, Third Colton Hartman, Second Austyn Ketlo and Lead Joey Shen. Team Reese-Hansen is made up of Taylor Reese-Hansen, Micaela Stevenson, third, Leah Anthony, second, Emma Baker, lead, and Fifth Jordyn Zanella.

Team Withey and Team Connell from Prince George qualified in Zone 8 (Cariboo-North East). Team Withey is made up of Skip Dustin Withey, Third Brendan Carswell, Second Coleton Vriesendorp, Lead James Brown and Fifth Tyler Slaney. Team Connell is made up of Skip Alyssa Connell, Third Jordan Henson, Second Jennilee Slaney, Lead Julianne Slaney and Fifth Bailey Eberherr.

The winners of the BC Winter Games will compete at the Optimist U-18 International Curling Championships April 2-6 in Cloverdale and Langley. Visit http://www.u18curling.ca/ for more information about that event.

Visit http://www.bcgames.org/ for more information about the BC Winter Games.