Dufour-Lapointe and Bilodeau win gold in Lake Placid

canadian freestyle ski

January 15, 2014, Lake Placid, N.Y (ISN) – It was another golden day on the slopes for Canada’s Mogul Teams as both our men and women topped Americans on their home turf.

In Women’s action, Justine Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC) beat Americans Heidi Kloser and Hannah Kearney while Alex Bilodeau (Rosemere QC) beat Americans Patrick Deeneen and Bradley Wilson. With this victory, Bilodeau is now first in the World Cup standings, taking over the position from teammate Mikaël Kingsbury, who finished in 6th position today.

“When I started the SuperFinal,” said Dufour-Lapointe, “I was pretty confident I knew what to do. I had made a couple of mistakes in the middle section on the earlier runs, so I just focused on my plan with my coach, pulled out my tiger, and went for it! When I saw that Hannah Kearney had made a mistake, I knew I had it!”

It was the second competition in a row that Bilodeau had taken the top spot. “I’m really happy with my skiing, said Bilodeau. “I had a great qualification, so for the final round I really wanted to push it. I still made a couple of mistakes in the middle section and I was certain that I was not going to win, but Mik’s mistakes were even bigger today. I still need to step it up because he won’t make those kind of mistakes again.”

This was the first time all year Kingsbury was not on the podium.

“I was skiing well all day, but I I lost my balance a bit in one of the moguls in the Super Final. I’m glad it happened today so I can learn about it and I won’t make those kind of mistakes during the Olympics.”

The entire World Cup mogul tour is now heading to Val St. Come, Quebec for Sunday’s final event before Monday’s Olympic nominations.

Other Canadian Results in Lake Placid:


  • 7. Maxime Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC) 22.99
  • 8. Andi Naude (Penticton, BC) 22.91
  • 20. Christel Hamel (Montreal, QC ) 19.55
  • 24. Chloé Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC) 19.02


  • 9. Simon Pouliot-Cavanagh (L’Ancienne-Lorette, QC) 80.40
  • 11. Marc Antoine Gagnon (Terrebonne, QC) 79.50
  • 16. Philippe Marquis (Ste-Foy, QC) 22.64
  • 17. Pascal-Olivier Gagne 22.49
  • 23. Eddie Hicks (Langley, BC) 22.30
  • 49. Simon Lemieux (Repentigny, QC) 59.63