BC Hockey Hall of Fame announces 2014 Inductees

BC Hockey hall of fame

January 23, 2014 (ISN) – The British Columbia Hockey Hall of Fame welcomes an impressive class of 2014 Inductees. Two retired NHL Players, former Vancouver Canucks’ goaltender Kirk McLean, 1975 First Round NHL Draft Pick Pat Price, are joined by veteran BC Hockey Program/Development Coordinator Bill Ennos and the 2004 Memorial Cup Champion Kelowna Rockets, as the 2014 inductees into the BC Hockey Hall of Fame.

Kirk McLean played 11 seasons in goal with the NHL Vancouver Canucks. A native of Willowdale, Ontario, McLean still holds several Vancouver goalie records: most games played (516), most playoff games played (68) and most playoff wins (34). McLean had a total of 245 NHL wins and recorded 22 shutouts. He was a Vezina Trophy finalist twice. Named to two NHL All Star Games and a 3 time winner of the Molson Cup. McLean is remembered for his outstanding play in the 1994 Stanley Cup Playoffs, leading the Canucks to Game 7 of the Final before losing to the New York Rangers.

Pat Price, from Nelson, BC was a standout Junior defenceman with Saskatoon Blades. He recorded 147 points in his final junior season and was selected 11th overall by the New York Islanders in the 1975 Amateur Draft and First overall in the WHA draft. He opted to sign with the WHA Vancouver Blazers for the biggest rookie contract in professional hockey at that time at $1.3 million over 5 seasons. Price later signed with the NHL Islanders. He also played with Edmonton Oilers, Pittsburgh Penguins, Quebec Nordiques, New York Rangers and Minnesota. Price played 726 games in the NHL.

Bill Ennos has been an integral part of Amateur Hockey development in British Columbia for many years. He joined BC Amateur Hockey Association (now BC Hockey) as Program Coordinator in 1980. Later in 1989 he succeeded Bob Nicholson as Development Coordinator. He is presently Associate Director-Programs. He was a leader in developing the BC Junior Olympic Program and its transition into the Best Ever Program of Excellence. Ennos also played hockey with the UBC Thunderbirds. He has won many awards including the BC Hockey Life Member’s Award for his outstanding contribution to the development and growth of amateur hockey.

The 2003-2004 Kelowna Rockets of the WHL will also be inducted in the Team Category of the BC Hockey Hall of Fame. The Rockets were Memorial Cup Champions under Head Coach Marc Habscheid and General Manager Bruce Hamilton. Kelowna Rockets were WHL regular season Champions and went undefeated in the Memorial Cup winning 4 straight. Defenceman Shea Weber was a Tournament All Star, Goalie Kelly Guard was MVP, Josh Gorges was winner of the Most Sportsmanlike Award.

The BC Hockey Hall of Fame 2014 Induction will be held on Friday July 25th in Penticton at the South Okanagan Events Centre.