McGill ski team opens 2014 campaign with five medals

Kelsey Wilcox and Allene Kennedy shared silver atop the podium in Friday

Kelsey Wilcox and Allene Kennedy shared silver atop the podium in Friday’s Giant Slalom race

MONTREAL – The McGill alpine ski team kicked off the 42nd season of the Quebec university circuit with five podium finishes over the weekend at Mont Ste. Marie, located about 100 kilometres north of Ottawa. The first of four excursions on the RSEQ schedule featured giant slaloms on both Friday and Saturday, then wrapped up with a slalom on Sunday (Feb. 2).

“We fought hard and placed seven girls and five guys in the top 15,” said Heather Cross, a junior from Montreal. “We did fairly well overall and were pleased that four of our athletes reached the podium, collecting a combined five medals over three days of racing. If the first weekend is any indicator, it looks like we’ll have a promising season!”

Jacqueline Baudinet, an international management freshman from Candiac, Que., was the only multiple medal winner with a pair of bronze-medal finishes, one occurring in Saturday’s GS and the other in the slalom. She is currently ranked third in the individual standings with 435 points overall, behind Montreal’s Andréa Audet (575) and Laval’s Maëlle Bergeron (500).

Kelsey Wilcox, an elementary education freshman from Wilmot, N.H., and Allene Kennedy, an environmental science sophomore from Truckee, Calif., both shared silver after posting identical times in Friday’s GS.

On the men’s side, David Apap, a physical therapy sophomore from France, claimed silver in the slalom, which proved to be the toughest day of competition as the courses were tricky and weather conditions challenging.

Apap is currently ranked second of all racers in the men’s standings with 405 points. he trails Philippe Rivet (500) from the Montreal Carabins. Other McGillians in the top 10 include Montreal native Philippe Garneau-Halliday (265, 7th) and Alexander Norman (250, 10th) of Kelown, B.C.

Up next on the agenda are a pair of giant slaloms at Mont Tremblant, Mar. 1-2.


Earl Zukerman
McGill Sports Info Office

RSEQ University Alpine Ski Circuit
Winter 2014   –   42nd season
(updated after 3 of 10 races; the best 3 of 5 performances count for both Slalom and Giant Slalom races)
# Nom Université Pts # Nom Université Pts
1 Andréa Audet Montréal 575,0 1 Philippe Rivet Montréal 500,0
2 Maëlle Bergeron Laval  500,0 2 David Apap McGill 405,0
3 Jacqueline Baudinet McGill 435,0 3 Mathieu Fournier Laval 400,0
4 Kelsey Wilcox McGill 402,5 4 Olivier Bouvier-Johnston Montréal 375,0
5 Allene Kennedy McGill 372,5 5 Simon-Claude Toutan Laval 350,0
6 Joëlle Dansereau Montréal 345,0 6 Julien Rozon Montréal 270,0
7 Emily Owen McGill 325,0 7 Philippe Garneau-Halliday McGill 265,0
8 Claudi-Ann Miron Montréal 280,0 8 Frédérique Durand Montréal 265,0
9 Christina Schram McGill 250,0 9 Jean-Philippe Bertrand Montréal 255,0
10 Amélie L’Heureux Laval 245,0 10 Alexander Norman McGill 250,0
11 Marie-Ève Paquet Montréal 232,0 11 Vincent Boulianne Laval 239,0
12 Hannah Kapur McGill 192,0 12 Robert Cohen McGill 220,0
13 Catherine Grondin Laval 188,0 13 Julien Houle-Dorval Montréal 203,0
14 Gabrielle Beaudoin-Lemay Concordia 187,0 14 Alexandre Gauvin McGill 190,0
15 Alexandra Schram McGill 183,0 15 Jérémie Gauthier Montréal 184,0
16 Mary Owen McGill 129,0 16 William Laver McGill 180,0
17 Dominique Ferland McGill 117,0 17 Akio Kato McGill 177,0
18 Katherine Murray Concordia 115,0 18 Alexandre Stoll Montréal 165,0
19 Vanessa Knight McGill 112,0 19 John Riedel McGill 162,0
20 Heather Cross McGill 109,0 20 David Blair McGill 151,0
21 Makena Korte-Moore McGill 85,0 21 Benjamin Mcausland McGill 145,0
22 Annie Boyer-Laporte Concordia 63,0 22 William LaRosa Verdon Laval 128,0
23 Michelle Segal Concordia 57,0 23 Alexandre Corbeil Montréal 123,0
24 Charlotte Baigent Concordia 55,0 24 Simon Altman McGill 112,0
25 Charles Foley Sherbrooke 107,0
26 Étienne Cardinal Laval 106,0
Charles Wright McGill 106,0
28 Geoffrey Long McGill 105,0
29 Alexandre Ferland Laval 104,0
30 Charles-Antoine Cloutier Concordia 100,0
31 Brandon McCool McGill 93,0
Julien Petit ETS 93,0
33 Mathieu Lauzon Montréal 85,0
34 Simon Foley Montréal 57,0
35 Charles Richer-Laflèche Montréal 55,0
36 Félix Lavergne McGill 54,0
37 Louis Morin Laval 53,0
38 Baptiste Saintot McGill 47,0
39 Frederic Lynn Concordia 44,0

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!