Thrilling clashes set for WRWC 2014

irb sevens 2

February 3, 2014 (ISN) – The Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 pool allocation draw has ensured some thrilling match-ups will be on display in France.

The much-awaited draw took place in the Hotel de Ville in Paris today, and created some mouth-watering clashes next August.

Hosts France have been drawn in Pool C with Australia, Wales and South Africa, in what is set to be a tough and physical pool, while 2010 runners-up England will play Canada, Spain and Samoa in Pool A.

In Pool B, defending champions New Zealand will face tough clashes against USA and Ireland as well as Asian qualifiers Kazakhstan as they attempt to win a fifth successive title.

Speaking after the draw at Hotel de Ville in Paris, IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “This is a really exciting day for Women’s Rugby. We now know the pools for France 2014, and fans are going to see some really excellent matches.”

“The World Cup in 2010 saw a great standard of Rugby, but I believe the matches next August will see an even greater level of intensity and skill.”

“I wish all 12 teams the very best over the coming year as they prepare for this magnificent event.”

Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 will take place in Paris from August 1-17. The pool stages will take place at FFR Marcoussis, with the semi-finals and final being played at Stade Jean Bouin.

Pool A – England, Canada, Spain, Samoa

Pool B – New Zealand, USA, Ireland, Kazakhastan

Pool C – Australia, France, Wales, South Africa

The pool allocation draw was streamed live on All the information on the draw and Women’s Rugby World Cup can be found on this site, along with ticket and travel information as it becomes available.

The fixtures and kick-off times for #WRWC2014 will be announced at a later date.