Men battle for first page playoff spot at 2014 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship

Curl BC_Colour_Logo

by Rebecca Connop Price

February 6, 2014, Vancouver, BC (ISN) – A team from Vancouver Island is on the hunt for a playoff spot at the 2014 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship, presented by Automation One.

But Neil Dangerfield’s Victoria rink will have to get past John Morris and his Kelowna/Vernon teammates first.

Team Dangerfield have had a great start in the triple knock-out competition, beating Kimberley’s Team Buchy 10-4, then defeating defending champion Team Bilesky 11-6 on day one.

Thursday morning’s draw saw the team take down Team DeCap 9-1 in just five ends

The Victoria Curling Centre has already produced two provincial champions this season (Team de Jong, Junior Men, and Team Van Osch, BC Scotties) – so Dangerfield, with his teammates Denis Sutton, Darren Boden and Glen Allen, will be looking to strengthen that record.

Team Morris, meanwhile, defeated Team Longworth 9-3, Team Montgomery 8-1 and Team Pierce 7-2 to make it to the A event final. The team of skip John Morris, fourth Jim Cotter, second Tyrel Griffith and lead Rick Sawatsky were runners-up at the 2013 Tim Hortons Roar of the Rings Olympic Trials in Winnipeg.

The A-event final featuring Dangerfield and Morris will take place today (Thursday) at 7pm.

Play will continue for the rest of the week at Vancouver Curling Club at the Hillcrest Centre, the home of curling at the 2010 Winter Olympics. The semi finals on Feb 8 and the finals on Feb 9 will be televised on Sportsnet. Visit for the TV schedule.

Meanwhile, teams with 2-1 records are battling for the chance to play in the B event final. Team Perepolkin, from Castlegar, Team Pierce, from Royal City in New Westminster, Team Richard, from Kelowna, and Team DeCap from Kamloops are all in the mix. Teams Buchy, Joanisse, Dezura and Yamada are also still in contention for the B event.