BCHL unveils plans for 2014 Fred Page Cup playoff format


by Brent Mutis

February 12, 2014 (ISN) – The British Columbia Hockey League and its board of directors have decided on a new playoff structure for the coming postseason and announced Wednesday the format details to fans and media.

As with last year, the top-four teams in each of the three divisions will qualify for the playoffs. Round 1 will be a best-of-seven series matching seed No. 1 versus No. 4 and No. 2 versus No. 3. Game 1 of the playoffs will be Tuesday, March 4.

The winners of Round 1 will meet in the division finals in Round 2, also a best-of-seven series.

After Round 2, each division will have a champion so three teams will still be alive. It is at this point that the new structure comes into play.

Round 3 will be a round-robin series with each of the three teams hosting two home games against the other two clubs.

The objective of Round 3 is to eliminate one club based on wins and losses. A total of six round-robin games are scheduled for Round 3. After the completion of those, the remaining two teams will go head to head in a best-of-seven Fred Page Cup Final.

In the event teams are tied after the six round-robin games, a tie-breaker game will be played with the winner going to the Finals, the loser eliminated. Tie-breaker rules for the round-robin are the same as those used in the BCHL regular-season standings.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!