Field is set for the 2014 BC Masters Curling Championships

Curl BC_Colour_Logo

by Rebecca Connop Price

February 13, 2014, Creston, BC (ISN) –  The field is set for the 2014 BC Masters Curling Championships in Creston, with curlers from across the province taking part.

Eight men’s and eight women’s teams will battle for gold in this 60+ competition which goes ahead at Creston Curling Club from March 5-9, 2014. Visit and click on the Curl BC tab for information about the event and the results as they come in.

Teams representing curling centres in Sparwood, Kelowna, Prince George, Esquimalt, Victoria, Abbotsford, Vancouver and Maple Ridge are taking part in the men’s competition.

On the women’s side, a Creston team will be hoping for home-ice advantage as they join teams from Quesnel, Port Alberni, the Comox Valley, Nanaimo, Langley and New Westminster in the competition.

Cathy Robinson, the event chair, said: “The Creston Curling Club is looking forward to hosting this event and welcoming the curlers to our beautiful valley and showcasing our sport.”

Opening ceremonies take place at 1:30pm on March 5, with the first draw taking place at 2:30pm.

The semi-finals and finals take place on Sunday, March 9.


Team Will – Sparwood

Skip: Ralph Will – Fernie
Third: Gerald Kent – Cranbrook
Second: Peter Sweetman – Cranbrook
Lead: Glenn Jaeb – Fernie

Team Danderfer – Esquimalt

Skip: Ronald Danderfer – Victoria
Third: Paul Malnarich – Victoria
Second: Barry Turner – Victoria
Lead: Pat Thompson – Victoria
Fifth: Bob Thompson

Team Melnyk – Victoria

Skip: Tom Melnyk – Victoria
Third: Derrell Sears – Armstrong
Second: Lynn Wilson – Sidney
Lead: Jack Bowman – Brentwood Bay

Team Lim – Prince George

Skip: Bill Lim – Prince George
Third: Owen Matheson – Prince George
Second: Don Martin – Prince George
Lead: Clarence Wigmore – Prince George
Fifth: Rick Mintz – Prince George

Team Gelowitz – Kelowna

Skip: Garry Gelowitz – Kelowna
Third: Wayne Saboe – Kamloops
Second: Grant Snow – Kelowna
Lead: Dennis Case – Kelowna

Team Watson – Vancouver 

Skip: Ken Watson – Surrey
Third: Dale Hockley – Chilliwack
Second: John Smiley – North Vancouver
Lead: Bill Rafter – Delta

Team Sparkes – Abbotsford

Skip: Bernie Sparkes – Chilliwack
Fourth: Mel Steffin 
Second: Jack Finnbogason – Surrey
Lead: Kiyo Hamade – Langley
Fifth: Bruce Lonsbery – Langley

Team Moore – Golden Ears, Maple Ridge

Skip: Garth Moore – Coquitlam
Third: Pierre Gallant – Coquitlam
Second: Murray Day – Maple Ridge
Lead: Gary Smith – Langley


Team Baker – Creston

Skip: Cherie Baker – Creston
Third: Beverly Boborosky – Creston
Second: Ani McDowell – Creston
Lead: Pauline Ferguson – Creston
Fifth: Theresa Richardson – Wynndel

Team Jeffries – Alberni Valley

Skip: Lorraine Jeffries – Port Alberni
Third: Zorka Smith – Nanaimo
Second: Eilene Mitton – Nanaimo
Lead: Trudy Beskau – Port Alberni

Team Gallaway – Comox Valley

Skip: Sandra Gallaway – Courtenay
Third: Liz Ellis – Comox
Second: Mary Ellen Werner – Comox
Lead: Elaine Starchuk – Courtenay

Team Obee – Nanaimo

Skip: Marg Obee – Nanaimo
Third: Noreen Martin – Nanaimo
Second: Sally Noonan – Nanaimo
Lead: Moyra Graham – Nanaimo
Coach: Gloria Palinkas

Team Bentley – Quesnel

Skip: Trudy Bentley – Quesnel
Third: Lynda Sales – Quesnel
Second: Gloria Ardell – Quesnel
Lead: Colleen Holmes – Quesnel

Team Lepine – Langley

Skip: Karen Lepine – Surrey
Third: Susan Beuk – Surrey
Second: Diane Jarvos – Surrey
Lead: Claire Morrison – Aldergrove

Team Gardner – Royal City

Skip: Isobel Gardner – Port Moody
Third: Vicki Smith – Langley
Second: Dianne Armstrong – Surrey
Lead: Teresa Parent – Coquitlam
Fifth: Janeen Curley

Team McFadden – Royal City

Skip: Carol McFadden – Coquitlam
Third: Mona Bassett – Burnaby
Second: Monica Hunter – North Vancouver
Lead: Ann MacLeod – Burnaby