Women’s quarter finalists decided after day 1 in Atlanta

IPC HeaderLogo

February 15, 2014 (ISN) – Russia, Canada and New Zealand have all progressed to the last eight as they remained unbeaten throughout day one of the Atlanta Sevens at Kennesaw State University.

In the brilliant sunshine but biting cold in Atlanta, all 12 teams took to the field on Saturday despite adverse weather during the week that saw travel and training plans disrupted.

Fans were treated to top quality games, high scoring matches and plenty of competition between the sides.

In Pool A, Canada beat neighbours USA, China and round one winners Australia to progress to the quarter finals on Sunday where they’ll have a re-match against their rivals, USA.

Pool B was a “group of death” that saw England and New Zealand beat both Ireland and Netherlands, before facing off in the last pool match of the night, a classic that saw the Black Ferns edge out the English girls, 14-5.

New Zealand now play Japan in the last-eight, while England face a tough battle against Australia.

Russia were the standout team in Pool C, beating Japan, Brazil and Spain to progress to the quarter-finals where they’ll play Spain in another re-match from Day one.

The Bowl semi-finals will be contested between Ireland and China in the first match, followed by Netherlands and Brazil.

All the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series action from Kennesaw State University gets underway on Sunday morning at noon (GMT -5)

Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA are core teams on the 2013/14 IRB Women’s Sevens World Series after reaching the quarter-finals of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013. The eight core teams compete across all rounds of the Series.

IRB Women’s Sevens World Series 2013/14: Dates and Venues:

  • First leg: Dubai, United Arab Emirates – November 28-29, 2013
  • Second leg: Atlanta, Georgia, USA – February 15-16, 2014
  • Third leg: Arena Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil – February 21-22, 2014
  • Fourth leg: GuangzhoU University Town Stadium, Guangzhou, China – April 4-6 2014
  • Fifth leg: National Rugby Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands – May 16-17, 2014