2013-14 OUA women’s hockey major award and all-stars announced


Source: OUA Communications / Photo credit GerryMarentelle

HAMILTON, Ont. – Ontario University Athletics (OUA) ispleased to announce the women’s hockey all-stars and major awardwinners. This year’s crop of all-stars and award winner shows thedepth in OUA women’s hockey, with 11 schools and 18 differentplayers receiving recognition.

For the first time in school history, the OUA women’s hockey playerof the year is a member of the Windsor Lancers.

Fourth-year forwardJenny MacKnight had an outstanding year for the Lancers en route tobeing named player of the year. The Regina, Sask. native topped theOUA with 40 points. Her 25 assists topped the league as well andher 15 goals on the year were good enough for second. MacKnightlead a potent Windsor offence that tied for tops in the OUA with 85goals scored this season. The award is the first postseason honourfor MacKnight in her career. She was also named an OUA first teamall-star.

Rachel Marriott of the Waterloo Warriors is the 2013-14 OUA rookieof the year and a member of the OUA all-rookie team. Marriott, fromWaterloo, Ont., led all first year players with 21 points duringthe regular season. Her 14 assists was tops among rookies and tiedfor 14th among all players. The dynamic forward also added sevengoals while providing aggressive play on the forecheck for theWarriors.

The Marion Hillard award recognizes excellence in the areas ofhockey, athletics and community involvement and is given out inhonour of Hillard, who played hockey for the University of Torontoin the 1920’s. This year’s winner is Nicole Kesteris (Aurora, Ont.)of the Varsity Blues. Off the ice, the fourth-year Human Geographymajor boasts a sparkling GPA in the classroom and volunteers hertime with organizations like Ronald McDonald House, Children’s AidSociety and the Toronto Latvian Centre. On the ice, Kesteris hasalso been named a 2013-14 OUA first team all-star on the strengthof a league leading .948 save percentage and a 1.34 goals againstaverage which was second in the OUA. She also logged five shutoutwins on the year.

Rachel Flanagan, bench boss of the Guelph Gryphons, is the 2013-14women’s hockey coach of the year. In her seventh season leading theGryphs Flanagan’s team finished in first place in OUA with a recordof 21-3 and ranked No. 3 in the CIS. Additionally, three of herplayers achieved all-star status. The coach of the year award isthe second in her career, after taking home the honour lastseason.

Joining Jenny MacKnight and Nicole Kesteris on the first all-starteam are forwards Jessica Pinkerton of Guelph and Morgan McHaffiefrom the Queen’s Gaels, plus blueliners Candice Styles from Laurierand Western’s Katelyn Gosling.

With this year’s first team all-star honour, Guelph forward JessicaPinkerton (Oshawa, Ont.) receives her third postseason recognitionin as many years, after being a second-teamer last season and amember of the all-rookie squad following the 2011-12 season. Her 16goals this year tied for the OUA lead, and her total of 31 pointswas good enough for fourth.

In her final OUA season, Queen’s Gael Morgan McHaffie collected 31points, tying Pinkerton for fourth. The 2013-14 first team all-starnod caps off an outstanding career for the Guelph, Ont. native, whowas named a first team all-star in each of the past two years.McHaffie finishes her career with 153 total points, just two shy ofthe OUA record.

Laurier’s Candice Styles (Orangeville, Ont.) becomes a first teamall-star this year on the strength of a career-high 21 points.Styles is a converted forward who made the switch to defence lastseason and has developed into a constant threat from the point,leading all OUA blueliners in points this year. After previouslybeing named a second team all-star and OUA rookie of the year as aforward, this all-star honour marks her recognition as an elite OUAdefenceman.

Katelyn Gosling (London, Ont.) of the Western Mustangs rounds outthe 2013-14 OUA first team. Gosling is a stay-at-home defender forWestern, but has the skill set to contribute offensively. Thethird-year blueliner has the lowest point total of her career thisyear, garnering only 11 points on three goals and eight assists,but she played a pivotal role on a defence that finished fifth inthe OUA in goals allowed. Gosling has now earned first team statusin back-to-back seasons.

The second all-star team also features a talented group of playerswho performed extremely well over the course of the regularseason.

Guelph’s Christine Grant (Mississauga, Ont.), Brock’s JessicaFickel (Fort Erie, Ont.) and Laura Brooker (Fergus, Ont.) of theLaurier Golden Hawks received the nod this year as forwards. Allthree finished in the top 10 in points in the OUA this year.

The second team defence is comprised of York’s Kristen Barbara(Mount Hope, Ont.) and Kayla Dodson (Windsor, Ont.) of the WindsorLancers. Both Barbara and Dodson were strong two-way players. Eachplayer finished in the top five for points among defencemen. Thesecond team goalie is Stephanie Nehring (Oshawa, Ont.) of theGuelph Gryphons.

Tori Campbell (Lethbridge, Alta.) of the UOIT Ridgebacks is thegoalie for the 2013-14 OUA all-rookie team, marking the second yearin a row the Ridgebacks have had the top first-year netminder.Joining Campbell on the all-rookie squad are rookie of the yearRachel Marriott of Waterloo and her Warriors teammate StephanieDigness (Aldergrove, B.C.), Clare McKellar (London, Ont.) of theQueen’s Gaels and a pair of Nipissing Lakers; forward Jade Gauthier(Callendar, Ont.) and defenceman Molly Sipprell (London, Ont.).

Sipprell and Gauthier become the first women’s hockey players fromNipissing University to earn postseason awards, following theteam’s first year of OUA competition.


Player of the Year: Jenny MacKnight – Windsor
Rookie of the Year: Rachel Marriott – Waterloo
Marion Hillard Award – Nicole Kesteris – Toronto
Coach of the Year: Rachel Flanagan – Guelph


Jenny MacKnight – Windsor
Jessica Pinkerton – Guelph
Morgan McHaffie – Queen’s

Candice Styles – Laurier
Katelyn Gosling – Western

Nicole Kesteris – Toronto


Christine Grant – Guelph
Jessica Fickel – Brock
Laura Brooker – Laurier

Kristen Barbara – York
Kayla Dodson – Windsor

Stephanie Nehring – Guelph


Rachel Marriott – Waterloo
Clare McKellar – Queen’s
Jade Gauthier – Nipissing

Stephanie Digness – Waterloo
Molly Sipprell – Nipissing

Tori Campbell – UOIT

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to scottharriganisn@gmail.com