Vikes women’s varsity eight row to first place finish at Head of Shawnigan

UVic-Logo web-(1)

by James Nielsen, Vikes Communications

February 17, 2014, VICTORIA (ISN) – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s and women’s rowing teams competed at Head of the Shawnigan, February 16 at Shawnigan Lake, with the women’s varsity eight boat placing first overall in the 7.5-kilometere event, while the men’s eight placed second to Rowing Canada.


The Vikes women’s varsity eight’s first-time finish clocked in at 22:33.88 while the Vikes novice squad finished behind in second-place with a time of 24:25.63. Edmonton rounded out the top-3 finishers with a time of 24:35.27.

“This was a good dig for us at the conclusion of reading break camp,” said Vikes women’s head coach Rick Crawley. “The girls just went through some intense seat racing so this was a chance to settle down and race as a team and have some fun. Their time’s were quite good for the distance and it was a good row given that we more or less threw the lineups together.”

The Vikes senior women’s double won their event but were second fastest on the day (27:33.86), with the Claremont juniors just edging them for the overall victory


On the men’s side, the Vikes varsity eight first boat finished second to Rowing Canada with a time of 20:11.12, while the varsity eight second crew placed fourth behind Brentwood’s junior team with a time of 21:50.98.

“Given the uncertainty of the past few months this was a good outing for the men,” explained Crawley. “The Vikes were able to hold of the Rowing Canada boys by not allowing them to pass, it was a good row for them to keep it as close as they did.”

The Vikes will now turn their attention to this year’s Elk Lake regatta, taking place Mar. 1-2. It will mark the beginning of a new era for the Vikes, who will see Aalbert Van Schothorst take over the reigns for his first regatta as the head coach of the men’s rowing program.

Varsity Women’s Eight:  Rebecca Wilder (cox), Madeline Spangehl, Christina Scholten, Rebecca Zimmerman, Beth McConnell, Catherine Slamka, Emma Whicher, Cate White, Amanda Pomphrey

Novice Women’s Eight: Cas Fernandes (cox) Maxime Chapman, Talise Lindenbach, Giorgia Van Brunschot, Emma Kolbuc, Courtney Smith, Jordyn McCrae, Alex Bovell, Abby Sawyer  

Senior Women’s Double: Meaghan Wilson, Kiersten van Gulick

Varsity Men’s Eight 1: Alex Clancy (cox) Sam Garber, Will O’Connell, Sean Decter, Sam Horn, Alex Walker, Christopher Marshall, Maxim Ellison, Connor McGuigan

Varsity Men’s Eight 2: Anna Braunizer (cox), Adam Donaldson, Issac Davies, Andrew Roberts, Brandon Carnduff, Lee Hall, Noah Robinson-Dunning, Theron Finley, Cole Hetherington