Canada West names Theil Defensive Player of the Year, Beaucamp Coach of the Year

UVic-Logo web-(1)

by James Nielsen, with files from Canada West

February 26, 2014, VICTORIA (ISN) – The No. 4 ranked University of Victoria Vikes men’s basketball program received several honours, Feb. 26, with third-year guard Reiner Theil being named Canada West’s Defensive Player of the Year while Vikes head coach Craig Beaucamp was named Coach of the Year for third-straight season.

Seniors Terrell Evans and Chris McLaughlin were also named conference First and Second team All-Stars, respectively.


Theil (West Vancouver, BC) played in all 22 games for the Vikes this season, helping the No. 4 nationally ranked squad to a 19-3 regular season record and first-place Pacific Division finish.

The six-foot-four guard collected the highest average floor time on the Vikes roster at 30.4 minutes per-game this season, while averaging third on the team in rebounds with 4.8 per-game. Theil was also fifth in scoring for the Vikes with 159 points through 22 games. During Victoria’s Nov. 30 game against the Trinity Western Spartans, the defensive specialist broke out for a season-high 22 points that included four field goals from beyond the arc.

“Reiner is a very deserved winner,” said Vikes head coach Craig Beaucamp. “For the past two years he has been the leader of our team defence. There is no statistic that recognizes individual defence, great defenders are motivated by their competitiveness and to their commitment to the team’s ultimate goal which is ‘winning’.”

Last weekend’s quarterfinal series against the Wesmen saw Theil averaging a team-high 32.7 minutes per-game, including 38 minutes in a game three victory that advanced his squad to this year’s Canada West Final Four, taking place Feb. 28 – Mar. 1.

Beaucamp, a previous Canada West Coach of the Year recipient in 2003-04, 2004-05, 2011-12 and 2012-13 led the Vikes to a 19-3 regular season record in 2013-14.  Under Beaucamp, the Vikes finished with the top-scoring defence in both the Canada West and CIS following a regular season average of 60.2 points-per-game.

After conceding a loss in the first game of the 2014 Canada West quarterfinals, Beaucamp’s squad rallied to win the remaining two games in convincing style, advancing to the Canada West Final Four in Edmonton, Alta., Feb. 28 – Mar.1.

“For Coach Beaucamp to be recognized as the Coach of the Year for three consecutive years clearly shows the respect his coaching colleagues have for the job Craig has done in guiding our Vikes to consistently high conference standings in each of those years,” said Clint Hamilton, director of Vikes Athletics and Recreation.

Cracking the First Team All-star list following a standout season is fifth-year senior Terrell Evans (Las Vegas, NV). The six-foot-four forward lead the Vikes on offence this season, averaging 17.9 points-per-game. Evans also saw the second-highest floor time for the Vikes during the regular season, averaging 30 minutes per-game.

Joining Evans on the all-star list is fourth-year Vikes forward Chris McLaughlin (Oakville, Ont.), who was named to the Second Team Tuesday. The six-foot-ten forward has been a consistent threat on offence for coach Beaucamp alongside fellow senior Evans, leading the team in rebounds with an average of 8.3 per-game in the regular season.


  • Player of the Year: Jordan Baker, Alberta
  • Rookie of the Year: Mamadou Gueye, Alberta
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Reiner Theil, Victoria
  • CIS Ken Shields Award nominee: Jasper Moedt, Fraser Valley
  • Coach of the Year: Craig Beaucamp, Victoria

ALL-STARS (alphabetical by surname)

First Team Second Team
Jordan Baker, Alberta                 Chris McLaughlin, Victoria
Terrell Evans, Victoria                 Jasper Moedt, Fraser Valley
Stephon Lamar, Saskatchewan    Jarred Ogungbemi-Jackson, Calgary
Steven Wesley, Winnipeg            Kenneth Otieno, Alberta
Ta’Quan Zimmerman, TRU           Logan Reiter, Lethbridge

All-Rookie Team
Andre Arruda, Manitoba
Mamadou Gueye, Alberta
Brandon Tull, Regina
Josh Turner, Calgary
Kedar Wright, UBC

2013-14 Award winners & All-Stars with previous honours:

Jordan Baker
2012 CW 1st All-Star, 1st All-Canadian
2011 CW 1st All-Star
2010 CIS All-Rookie

Terrell Evans
2013 CW 2nd All-Star

Stephon Lamar
2013 CW MVP, 1st All-Star, 1st All-Canadian

Jarred Ogungbemi-Jackson
2013 CW 1st All-Star

Kenneth Otieno
2013 CW 1st All-Star

Craig Beaucamp
2004, 2005, 2012, 2013 CW Coach of the Year

Each award recipient moves on as a finalist for the annual Canadian Interuniversity Sports (CIS) awards, with winners to be announced on March 7 at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa as part of the Final 8 national tournament, March 7-9.

This Friday and Saturday, the Canada West Final Four goes at the Saville Centre in Edmonton, where the host University of Alberta Golden Bears play Prairie rival Saskatchewan in one semifinal and Victoria takes on Fraser Valley in the other. Finalists will qualify for CIS Nationals, while one at-large will be awarded from across Canada.

All game can be seen live on

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!