Sochi 2014 Opening Ceremony flag bearers named for all 45 countries

IPC HeaderLogo

March 6, 2014 (ISN) – The Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games will begin on Friday (7 March) at Fisht Stadium in the Olympic Park, as 547 athletes from 45 countries get set for nine days of competition across five sports.

Norway enter the Games as the most successful winter Paralympic nation of all-time, and the USA will have the largest delegation of any country with 80 athletes, followed by host nation Russia with 67 athletes.

Brazil, Turkey and Kazakhstan are making their Paralympic Winter Games debuts at a Games that are expected to break all viewing records, with more than 55 countries broadcasting the competitions, in addition to live streaming the ceremonies and more than 300 hours of live HD coverage.

Below is a list of flag bearers for all participating countries, listed in the order they will enter Fisht Stadium.

  • Australia: Cameron Rahles-Rahbula (alpine skiing)
  • Austria: Philipp Bonadimann (alpine skiing)
  • Andorra: Xavier Fernandez (alpine skiing)
  • Argentina: Pablo Javier Robledo (Nordic skiing)
  • Armenia: Mher Avanesyan (alpine skiing)
  • Belarus: Yadviha Skorabahataya (Nordic skiing)
  • Belgium: Denis Colle (snowboard)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ilma Kazazic (alpine skiing)
  • Brazil: Andre Pereira (snowboard)
  • Great Britain: Millie Knight (alpine skiing)
  • Germany: Andrea Rothfuss (alpine skiing)
  • Greece: Efthymios Kalaras (alpine skiing)
  • Denmark: Ulrik Nyvold (alpine skiing)
  • Iran: Sadegh Kalhor (alpine skiing)
  • Iceland: Erna Fridriksdottir (alpine skiing)
  • Spain: Jon Santacana Maiztegui (alpine skiing)
  • Italy: Andrea Chiarotti (ice sledge hockey)
  • Kazakhstan: Yerlan Omaraov (Nordic skiing)
  • Canada: Sonja Gaudet (wheelchair curling)
  • China: Ye Tian (Nordic skiing)
  • Mexico: Arly Velasquez (alpine skiing)
  • Mongolia: Ganbold Batmunhk (Nordic skiing)
  • Netherlands: Bibian Mentel-Spee (snowboard) New Zealand: Adam Hall (alpine skiing)
  • Norway: Mariann Marthinsen (Nordic skiing)
  • Poland: Maciej Krezel (alpine skiing)
  • South Korea: Seung-Hwan Jung (ice sledge hockey)
  • Romania: Laura Valenau (alpine skiing)
  • Serbia: Jugoslav Milosevic (alpine skiing)
  • Slovakia: Jakub Krako (alpine skiing)
  • Slovenia: Gal Jakic (alpine skiing)
  • USA: Jonathan Lujan (alpine skiing)
  • Turkey: Mehmet Cekic (alpine skiing)
  • Uzbekistan: Ramil Gayazov (alpine skiing)
  • Ukraine: Mykailo Tkachenko (Nordic skiing)
  • Finland: Katja Saarinen (alpine skiing)
  • France: Vincent Gauthier-Manuel (alpine skiing)
  • Croatia: Dino Sokolovic (alpine skiing)
  • Czech Republic: Stanislav Loska (alpine skiing)
  • Chile: Jorge Migueles (alpine skiing)
  • Switzerland: Christoph Kunz (alpine skiing)
  • Sweden: Jalle Jungnell (whleelchair curling)
  • Japan: Shoko Ota (Nordic skiing)
  • Russia: Valerii Redkozubov (alpine skiing)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!