Major award finalists for 2013-14 Vikes varsity season announced

UVic-Logo web-(1)

by James Nielsen, Vikes Communications

March 21, 2014, VICTORIA (ISN) – The University of Victoria Vikes have announced the finalists for their 2013-14 major awards, with winners being announced Tuesday Aprril 1, at the annual Celebration of Champions banquet at the Victoria Conference Centre.

The annual banquet recognizes and celebrates outstanding individual and team accomplishments from the past varsity season. 


Major individual awards to be distributed include the Robert T. Wallace Shield Rookie of the Year awards, Chancellor’s Award, Publisher’s Award, Male and Female Athletes of the Year and the President’s Cup.

Additionally, the Vikes will welcome the 2014 inductees to the UVic Sports Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees include one athlete, Ms. Jan Crook (Field Hockey) and two builders, Dr. David Docherty and Dr. Bruce Howe (Rugby). 


Nominees listed below are in alphabetical order.

Provost Award for Excellence

This award is presented to a returning varsity student-athlete with the highest academic average who has satisfied the minimum requirements for acclamation as a Vikes Honour Roll recipient based on the previous year.

Isaac Davies, Rowing

Robert T. Wallace Shield Rookie of the Year

This award recognizes an outstanding male and female student-athlete in their first year of competition in intercollegiate sport, but not necessarily first year of university.


Elise Butler, Soccer

Tiffany Picketts, Rugby

Catherine Slamka, Rowing


Jon McKay, Swimming

Crosby Stewart, Rugby

Tyler Smith, Cross Country & Track

Chancellor’s Award

This award is given to the outstanding student-athlete in fourth or fifth year who best combines scholastic achievement and athletic ability.

Anna Braunizer, Rowing

Kathleen Leahy, Field Hockey

Andrew Ravenhill, Soccer

Athlete of the Year

This award is given to one female and one male student-athlete based upon their outstanding achievements in university competition over the past 12 months.


Brigitte Greig, Soccer

Rachel Francois, Cross Country & Track

Kathleen Leahy, Field Hockey


Terrell Evans, Basketball

Thomas Riva, Cross Country & Track

Keegan Zanatta, Swimming

President’s Cup

This award is presented annually to a student-athlete who is a contributor to the team. She/he provides leadership and vision exemplifying the goals of the team.

Jackie Harrison, Soccer

Kyle Irvine, Cross Country & Track

Times Colonist Publisher’s Award for Community Contributions

This award is presented to the individual(s) within the community who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution to a varsity program.

John Tinker, Soccer

Tickets are available to the public at a cost of $85 (plus GST). Visit to purchase or for more information.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!