Final squads declared for round 7 of HSBC Sevens World Series in Hong Kong

HSBC sevens worls series

March 27, 2014 (ISN) – The final squads have been declared by the 28 international coaches ahead of the Cathay Pacific / HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, round seven of the HSBC Sevens World Series to be played at the Hong Kong Stadium on 28-30 March.

The tournament comprises two competitions, a 16-team event for the famous Hong Kong trophy and Series points, and a 12-team World Series qualifier, from which one nation will qualify as a core team to compete at every round of the 2014/15 Series.

The race for the overall HSBC Sevens World Series is red hot with South Africa leading New Zealand by just two points. Both sides play one match on day one – New Zealand face Scotland and South Africa start against France – while USA and Samoa are the first to play in the top-tier 16-team competition at 18:24 (HK local).

Prior to that the 12 regionally qualified teams going for core team status will each play their first two pool matches, with Japan kicking off proceedings against Uruguay.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!