Vic Sharks

by Kasey Eriksen (ISN)

March 29, 2014, Victoria (ISN) – It was the end of the line for the Sharks on Saturday night at Pearkes Arena when the Stingers finished their 3-0 sweep, winning the game with a score of 6-2 and becoming this year’s VHL champs.

The score was 4-1 by the end of the first with Kurtis Dukelow scoring the sole goal for the Sharks near the end of the period. Mark Stinson got the Stingers on the board at 14:52 followed by a power play goal at 13:27 by Blake Polischuk.

aIMG 1567small
A scramble for the puck. (Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

Kurtis Dukelow scored for the Sharks at 5:31 but at 4:02 Greg Simpson’s power play puck found its way in behind Brumby. Then with only 1:43 left on the clock Trent Brandvold plots another for the Stingers finishing the period with the scoreboard showing 4-1 in the Stingers’ favor.

aIMG 1589small
Blair Tassone. (Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

The Sharks opened the second period when the Stingers’ netminder, Jason Stone allowed Scott Zaichkowsky’s short-hander to cross the line, adding another goal onto the board for the Sharks.

aIMG 1614small
Kurtis Dukelow scored the first goal for the Sharks. (Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

At 4:28 Stingers’ Greg Simpson scored his second of the night, finishing the game with a final score of 6-2 for the Stingers.

aIMG 1620small
Nick Chalecki and Wilf Marquis. (Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

For more information on the VHL, visit the website at: 

aIMG 1668small
(Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

aIMG 1678small
(Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

aIMG 1703small
Blake Polischuk hoists the trophy. (Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

aIMG 1711small
It’s Greg Simpson’s turn to hoist the trophy. (Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)

aIMG 1714small
The Stingers are the 2014 VHL champs. (Photo: Kasey Eriksen ISN)