Stanley and Traccitto named UPEI Athletes of the Year


by Nicole Phillips

April 3, 2014, Charlottetown, PEI (ISN) – UPEI Athletics and Recreation celebrated its 45th year by recognizing outstanding student athletes at the annual UPEI Athletics Awards ceremony held at the PEI Brewing Company in Charlottetown. The UPEI Alumni Association’s Outstanding Athletes of the Year awards went to women’s soccer star Sarah Stanley and men’s hockey standout Reggie Traccitto.

In her fourth year, Stanley, a native of Charlottetown, has developed into one of the top midfielders. She is a leader who sets a great example with her work ethic and positive attitude. This past season when the pressure was on, she came out charging, scoring all three goals in a crucial weekend series against Dalhousie and Saint Mary’s, resulting in her being named both an AUS and CIS Athlete of the Week. More awards followed, as she was named an AUS 2nd Team All-star at the end of the season. Head Coach Lewis Page described Stanley as a joy to coach, “she works hard, encourages her teammates, but most of all, loves to compete,” he said.

Traccitto, a fourth-year student-athlete from Oakville, Ontario is a very complete defenseman that would be considered one of the greatest scoring threats in the AUS, especially on the power play. There might not be any single player in the AUS that had a more significant impact towards any program’s special teams than Traccitto. On a team, that at times, struggled to score goals, UPEI Panthers’ power play was amongst the best in the AUS, with Traccitto playing a significant role towards this success.  Traccitto was the Panthers’ top scoring defenseman, finishing second overall on the team, and finishing 10th overall in the AUS. Traccitto also played a tremendous role in penalty kills, in which the team ranked first overall in the CIS. Traccitto was selected as an AUS 1st team All-Star and named a CIS 2nd team All-Canadian.

The J.T. “Mickey” Place Awards were also presented this evening to student athletes who have made a contribution to student leadership on their team and on campus. John Thomas “Mickey” Place was connected not only with Athletics at UPEI, but also with all aspects of campus life. He believed in fair play and that through respect for one’s opponent, athletes could gain the ultimate respect for themselves. These awards are provided by the UPEI Student Union in his memory. The winners from each team include:

Men’s basketball                              Lorenzo Parker

Women’s basketball                         Danielle MacDonald

Field hockey                                     Eliza MacLauchlan

Men’s hockey                                   Mason Wilgosh

Women’s hockey                              Ferran Brown

Women’s rugby                                Alicia MacDonald

Women’s soccer                               Kelsie Collier

Men’s soccer                                    Trevor White

Swimming                                         Suzanne Nicholson

Women’s volleyball                           Emilie Sullivan

Women’s curling                               Jane DiCarlo

Men’s curling                                    Connor MacPhee

Synchronized swimming                   Lauren Hardy

Powerlifting                                       Daniel Quadros Da Fonseca

Men’s rugby                                      Sean Doyle

Cross country/Track & field               Melanie McKenna

JV women’s hockey                          Jill MacIsaac

The teams then took to the stage one at a time to celebrate and recognize their teammates and top athletes. Listed below are the winners from each team:

                                   MVP                              Rookie

Men’s soccer              Cole MacMillan             Lucas Holmes

Women’s soccer         Sarah Stanley               Tessa Fudge

Men’s rugby                Aaron Fitzpatrick          James Mallard

Women’s rugby          Danielle Lacey               Holly Jones

Field hockey               Katherine Koughan       Sydney Stavert

Men’s hockey             Reggie Traccitto            Casey Babineau

Women’s hockey        Keirsten Visser              Emma Martin

Men’s basketball        Geoff Doane                  Jayden Nordin

Women’s basketball   Amy Gough/                  Kiera Rigby

                                   Danielle MacDonald

Swimming                   Rooske Wagemakers   Joël Legault

Women’s volleyball     Meg MacKinnon           Abbie Ronalds

The Gordon and Muriel Bennett Award presented by Muriel Bennett is given to a student (male of female) who, over four years, best combined athletic achievement and academic excellence. Women’s hockey student-athlete Christina Kelly was this year’s recipient.

The W.A. Ledwell Award goes to a student-athlete who has demonstrated outstanding athletic ability in the intercollegiate program, academic excellence, and also demonstrates the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and citizenship. Katherine Koughan from field hockey was the recipient.

One of the evening highlights was the presentation of the Passion for Life Award, originated in memory of Rene Ayangma, a former UPEI soccer player. All nominees were recognized and the award winner was Leanne Doiron, for her true passion for life and commitment to Panther Sport. Doiron, a very conscientious student, has been a member of the Student/Athlete Advisory Group for the last two years, and is one of the most proud Panther athletes on campus. There’s not a Panther activity on campus that you won’t find her present at, either working or cheering on her fellow athletes. Doiron served as an athletics and student assistant, where her energy and infectious personality thrive and grow in her responsibility to become the game day coordinator willing and eager to help all sports enhance the game day experience. Her positivity in life, and with her peers, makes her a perfect choice for the Passion for Life Award. She is a true Panther who bleeds green.

2013-14 nominees for Passion for Life Award:

Men’s soccer                        Adam Lowther

Women’s soccer                  Jenna Jo MacDonald

Men’s rugby                         Ryan Lloyd

Women’s rugby                    Mosher Gallant

Field hockey                         Leanne Doiron

Men’s hockey                       Mathew Maione

Women’s hockey                  Ferran Brown

Men’s basketball                  Donathan Moss

Women’s basketball             Danielle MacDonald

Swimming                             Leif Wilm

Women’s volleyball               Ellie Beck

Men’s curling                        Taylor MacInnis

Women’s curling                   Veronica Smith

Synchro                                Katie Carter

Powerlifting                           Naeem Rohani
Cross Country                       Melanie McKenna

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!